1,300 Miles Later-A Reflection From The Riders


Advertisement
Published: July 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Rob Keller wrote...

The joy of this motorcycle trip was not in putting it together, but in watching the faces of those bikers who went on this trip. Whether it was conquering a certain fear, fulfilling a dream, being part of a team, capturing Kodak moments, creating memories for your daughter, sharing your faith, getting away from the job, or just not having to plan anything but ride...all had their highlights. I've asked them to put their thoughts into words and let us know what they were thinking. I think you will enjoy them. Guys, it was a pleasure to be the "road captain" on this ride. Start speading the news that next year the Duluth and North Shore of Lake Superior beckons.

Jeff Roper wrote...

"It never ceases to amaze me the insights received from one another as to whom you are and what you do and what your purpose is on this big rock called Earth. With small groups of fellowship, true friendships are formed. Personally, I was blessed by the fellowship of everyone on the trip and was a very positive experience. I don't think this was just a Motorcycle Ride ride , but a ride of Gods beauty in the land and all that we saw, but also the beauty that we encountered and saw in and received from one another. Again, thank you Rob for all the work in preparing this ride and it was indeed enjoyable."

Bruce and Sharon Walth wrote...

"What a wonderful trip this was. We started with a devotional that talked about the need to let go and leave our stressors behind; it was the perfect beginning to a spectacular journey that took us first into Montana, then Wyoming, South Dakota and back home to Bismarck.

The four-day trip was filled with fellowship, awesome scenery and wonderfully stress-free vacation time. We were excited about this adventure, looked forward to leaving work behind for four days and loved every minute of it.

The sights along the way were simply breathtaking. From the lush green hills and buttes in western North Dakota’s Badlands, to the Montana and Wyoming mountains and then the majestic Spearfish Canyon in South Dakota. Absolutely gorgeous. It’s been many years since we’ve seen these parts of the country and it was especially enjoyable seeing them in this way—traveling on the back of a motorcycle.

Bruce and I really appreciated the well-planned itinerary and Rob’s great organization. The whole trip went so well. It was a pleasure from start to finish.

Even the weather challenges we ran into did not deter us. Everyone was so positive and just figured, ‘well, if it rains, it rains.’ Though we did get wet, we were prepared for it and lucked out more than once as we’d pull into the canopy in front of our hotel for the night just as the skies would open up. It seems someone was watching out for us.

For those of us who were novices to long-distance motorcycle trips, the bathroom breaks were an interesting challenge. Because we were wearing so many layers of clothes, trying to remember to pull everything back up was tough!

It was an amazing trip and we’re looking forward to next year. Thank you so much to you, Rob, and to all those who took part. A big highlight of the trip for Bruce and me was the fellowship with the other riders. The time we all spent together eating, talking, laughing and getting to know each other was very enjoyable. Thank you!"


Peggy Harms wrote...

WOW!! What a ride. 1300 miles in 4 days. That's more that I put on my bike in 2 years!!! But, you know what? It was worth every sore muscle and a weary body and I'd do it all over again.

Beartooth Pass was a challenge because of dense fog, rain, snow, sleet, 30 some degrees, and hairpin turns, but I figure if I navigated that, I can ride in anything. However, I think I still prefer the fair weather ride. The rest of the trip was ride, ride, ride with gas and scenery stops that were most welcome. Those lucky ones riding 2-up really got to enjoy the scenery, but I managed to sneak a peak or two. I even managed to keep the sunny side up with my "training wheels". I wouldn't have gone on the trip without them.

I enjoyed the ride, scenery and being outdoors in God's creation. The smell of the trees, grass, and fresh air was so pungent. A person really misses all that when riding in an enclosed vehicle.

When we got to the motel at Cody, WY, the last thing I wanted to do was gear up again to ride to supper. I just wanted to order something in and not go anywhere, but that was not an option, really. So, gear up I did, and got on the bike once again. And surprise of all surprises....I totally forgot how beat I was and just let me GO!!! There was something about that bike that just rejuvenated me.

I knew all of the people on the trip. However, I didn't really KNOW some of them. It was a "Hi, how are you today?'" kind of acquaintance with some of them. This was a wonderful way to bond and make new friendships. It was especially neat to be able to ride with Taylor Patch as an equal. She was one of my babies in the nursery. (She didn't think she wanted me to rock and cuddle her, though.) Such a neat young lady.

Rob did an awesome job of being Road Captian. He set a comfotable pace on the road and led us on some wondeful spiritual insights with the devotions.

The trip was a memorable one. I am looking forward to our next annual ride. Make plans to join us.

Jim Harms wrote...

First of all I have to say "hats (helmets) off" to our road captain Rob Keller. There was a lot of time put into the pre-trip planning to the point where all we had to do was saddle up and ride. I should also add the fact that my total motorcycle experience was somewhere around 7000 miles before the trip and we rode in a manner which did not exceed my comfort level.

Going over Beartooth pass was an exerience that I will never forget. I had made the statement years earlier that I would like to go over Beartooth in a motorcycle (after doing it in a car with white knuckles). You see, I have this issue with high places that have sheer drop-offs into thin air. Well, I did it! We had prayed about this before and I had a lot of encouragement which all helped and they did not have to pry me loose from the handlebars after it was over.

The majesty of God's creation was all around us in the beautiful scenery. When you are riding, all you have is the drone of your engine and your thoughts. Its easy to say "wow" to the big things like mountains and watefalls but what about the little things, like a downpour waiting until we were under the shelter of a motel awning or the fog on the Beartooth summit opening long enough to help me relax for the rest of the climb. These are just two examples of how God has His hand in our everyday lives. Things that are very easily overlooked.

To me the trip was more of fellowship than of sceney. There was the fellowship with total strangers and fellowship within the group. I felt a bonding take place between all of the members that might not have happened otherwise. To me it was a wonderful trip and a huge sucess.

Jon Patch wrote...

This was my first long bike trip and can definitely say it won't be my last. I took my 13 year old daughter Taylor with me and she also had a blast. The freedom of the open road is so liberating for the soul. Our creator provided a marvelous world for us to explore and enjoy. The plains, mountains, rivers and streams, winding canyons, and great Christian camaraderie, it doesn't get any better than that, at least not till we get to heaven.

When we were at a campground in Spearfish my motorcycle drew the attention of a man in his sixties, his name was Randy. He had been traveling the American West on his motorcycle so he stopped by to check out my motorcycle. A ways into our conversation, he mentioned he had recently been divorced and was battling loneliness. Taylor and I were able to pray with him. That was just one of the many instances of how I felt God guiding our path and working out the details of this trip.

Forrest Ecklund wrote...

What a delight to ride, eat, sleep and fellowship with Christian friends and see some of the prettiest country God has made. This was a trip that I will store in my memory to replay anytime in the future when I need to smile. Blessings to all who were there and to all who would like to have been.

Edie Will wrote...

As a rider, I had an extra benefit to see a whole lot more than the ones who drove. Experiencing the smells, seeing the sights and enjoying what you're doing spells Motocyle Trip/ It was so refreshing to breathe the mountain air, smell the hay, flowers, feedlots (ugh!) etc. Being in so many different kinds of places makes you realize once again that this didn't just happen, there had to have been someone who designed everything in it's own unique way. I enjoyed the mountains, the waterfalls, the canyons, trees, eveything was a blessing to me. Every meal time we were able to fellowship and share in order to get to know everyone better. Our "spiritual" share times were geared to motorcycle topics, so applicable to everday living. Would I do it again? A very hearty YES, when do we leave?

Roger Will wrote...

We waited for the trip, it came and then so fast it was over. All we have left are the pictures, the memories and the friendships made and the experiences that we had. It was worth it all. There were scarry times - going over Beartooth Pass. Holes in the road, water beading up on my windsheild making me dizzy trying to peer through it to avoid the holes in the road, and the wet pavement seeming to tilt on its edge. There were many grand and glorious sights for this boy from the plains as we rounded another corner and beheld more majestic scenes unfolding before our eyes. Each mountain scape was unique and different from the previous. Our faith in God was strengthened as we ascended and descended through His great creation. It was nice to get away from all the routine and stress of everyday life as I rolled down the highway on two wheels with my woman on the seat behind me.





Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0359s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb