Horseback Riding


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » North Carolina » Cherokee
October 19th 2013
Published: October 26th 2013
Edit Blog Post

We slept in and then had our coffee, tea, oj, bacon, cinnamon toast and I had scrambled egg whites.

We got ready for our adventure today: horseback riding. Ken had checked out a place nearby earlier in the week so we felt comfortable with the place we were going. The girls were so excited....me..not so much. I used to ride a lot...when I was 18 years old. We got there and had to wait on another family. They finally arrived-a young family-mom, dad, and 3 little boys, 2,6 and 8. The eight year old was supposed to go by himself but he starting crying so he rode with his dad and the 6 year old. The mom rode with the little guy-who was so cute. It kind of reminded me of my guys when they were little-the same age span. We got on our horses and headed out. The owner, a cherokee indian was our leader. The horses do this trail all the time so they know to follow the leader. We headed up a huge mountain for about 30 minutes. We reached the top, a beautiful vista overlooking the mountains. The girls did great, no complaints or problems. We headed back down, which was painful. It was really steep and you have to put pressure on the ball on your foot and lean back. I really couldn't wait to get down. When we finally arrived, as I got off the horse, my legs felt like jello. The girls loved and it and wanted to do it again! We were all hungry so we went to Wendy's. Afterwards we drove to Sylva to Walmart to do some shopping. I wanted to buy some Santa hats to take 'Christmas card' pictures with the girls. We bought Bella a bird feeder and seed to put in her yard and Lola got a mini grocery cash register. We headed back to the RV. I had put some ribs in the crock pot (Bella's favorite) before we left this morning and they were ready. ken grilled a chicken breast for us and we also made asparagus. After dinner we went outside by the fire and the girls made s'mores. We went back inside and while Ken did the dishes I helped Lola make some homemade cards: one for Amy's Birthday and a Halloween card for Jason and Amy. Bella was falling asleep so we set up the bed. She fell fast asleep. Lola and I got our pjs on and I crawled in bed with her and Bella. Pops put in "It's the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown". I still love Charlie Brown. Another great day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.261s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb