Leaving New York


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York
May 7th 2006
Published: May 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Sunday 7th May. I said goodbye to some friends I had been travelling with in the morning. Its never nice to say goodbye to friends, and it really felt like my last day travelling now.

I decided to hit the City again, and made my way back to the Empire State building. I bought a ticket, and went to the very top, the observary point on the 86th floor. The view across the City is absolutely amazing, you can see everything from here, it just dwarfs the other skyscrapers. And since 9/11, its now the highest tower in New York. Its claimed to be one of the wonders of the world.

From there I did some shopping in Macys ( of course!! ), and then walked up to Bryants Park. Here is the main library, and more importantly, where they caught the first ghost in Ghostbusters!!!! Then on to Grand Central station, an amazing building, and the even more impressive Chrysler building, which was spectacular lit up at night.

From here I walked over to the Rockerfeller centre, then to Radio City Music hall, and then back over to Times Square for another look around. I only had a few days to look around New York, but it is a truly amazing place, and I will definitly return one day.

I caught a shuttle from my hotel to JFK airport, which takes around 45 minutes. Checked in and then my flight left the runway at 10:10pm. The plane flew over the City for another incredible sight over the millions of lights below. Home here we come.....!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

JFK AirportJFK Airport
JFK Airport

And after nearly 5 incredible months travelling, the final trek home
Nearly HomeNearly Home
Nearly Home

Screen on the plane showing our flight progress


Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0252s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1019.9kb