Day 7


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
February 2nd 2011
Published: February 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Woke up at around 9.30am, got up and showered, and I met Mark down in the lobby so we could go and get Macca’s brekkie (and use the net). Madi stayed in bed as she had a terrible headache/migraine.

Stayed at Macca’s for a while, even after Mark had left, just updating blogs and what not, and then left to take my laptop back to the hostel.

From there I caught the subway into Midtown, with the intention on buying a cheap ticket to see something on Broadway that night. When I got up to the ticket window, I was able to buy a 9th row centre ticket to see The Addams Family with Nathan Lane and Bebe Neuwirth at 2pm for about $60!! So I grabbed that and had some time to spare before going in, so I had another look around the M&M’s World. I keep finding new stuff in there every time!

As it started to get close to time, I left, and started walking towards the Lunt-Fontanne Theatre. There’s all these people around who try and heckle you and sell you tickets to different comedy shows, and so far I’ve been really good at avoiding them, but one of them caught me – not sure how – and so I had to stop and chat to him for 5 minutes… I didn’t end up buying anything off him so I hope he was happy that he’d wasted both of our time!

Finally got into the theatre and was able to walk in straight away. Quite a small theatre, I think you could’ve had good seats wherever you were sitting. The show started, with the Addams Family theme song before the curtain opened – and all the audience clicked! It was pretty funny! Nathan Lane was absolutely wonderful!!! There’s a reason he’s the huge star he is! The other stand outs were the girl who played Wednesday – she had the most amazing voice; Uncle Fester – he was just perfect for the role; and Grandma – she had crazy down to a tee! There were also lots of very cool special effects, like a tassel off the curtains, which fell off and ran around the stage by itself. Just fantastic!!

After the show, I went to the stage door, hoping to get a glimpse of Nathan Lane, but was told he and Bebe don’t come out after the show… I did however get the autographs of the kid that played Pugsly (he was TINY!), the guy that played Wednesday’s boyfriend, and Uncle Fester!

At this point I headed back to the hostel, grabbed my laptop again and met up with Mark and Madi at Starbucks. Turns out they’d both ended up sleeping for most of the day! We didn’t stay there for very long, took our stuff back to the hostel, and headed down to the East Village, where Madi was looking at a place she might be subletting. Jon lives just around the corner, so whilst Madi looked at her place, Mark and I went to visit Jon and his roommate – Claire.

When Madi was done, she met us at Jon’s, and we ended up deciding to have a (at this point, very late) dinner at a burger place called Mikey’s. Was quite good, then we went down a couple of places to the bar we had been too on my 2nd night, which I now know is called 138 Local. We had a couple of drinks there, and then headed to meet up with some other Aussies at a place called Fat Cat.

On our way there, we had stopped on a corner and someone walked past us. I think I may have been the first to notice, but it had been a celebrity! His name is Liev Schreiber, and he’s been in numerous things, including the scream movies, and he played Wolverine’s brother in X-Men. I was super excited – though it took us about 2 hours to actually find out what his name was =P

We made it to Fat Cat, and it was a pretty cool place. They didn’t sell any hard liquor, just Beer and Wine, had a jazz band playing, and had so many pool tables, table tennis tables, chess and scrabble boards, even a game that is much like Curling – but on a table!

We stayed there for a while, a big bunch of Aussies, and then finally left, around 2.30am. Madi and I caught the subway home, and stopped at a Dwayne Reid on the way to grab some chocolate and stuff. When we got back to our hostel, we pretty much just crashed on our beds. I was sooo exhausted!

This day was the first day I actually started to feel the cold… I don’t know whether it actually was colder than all the other days, or whether my adrenaline from being here has worn off!

Advertisement



3rd February 2011

Love that you are keeping your blogs up to date this time.And Carls comments always make me laugh.Not long now before he is there. Love you and miss you.xxx

Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0606s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb