Day 4


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
January 30th 2011
Published: February 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Sunday morning I got up and dressed, rather late in the morning, and headed to catch the subway towards Times Square. Had a bit of a walk around, and then wondered over to the Box Office at the Shubert Theatre to see if I could get tickets to see the musical Memphis at 3pm. I managed to get a seat up on the 3rd level, 2nd last row. I figured that would do!

I had an hour or two to kill, so I had another walk around the Times Square area. I looked in a couple of little shops, then saw a nice looking pizza place, and headed it for a slice of Cheese Pizza. Brilliant! Cannot get enough of Cheese pizza!!

Once I’d finished, I headed back out, and decided to have a look in M&M’s World. This is basically just a huge M&M’s store, full of more merchandise than candy! But it’s really cool anyway, so many little knick-knack’s, and statues of the M&M character’s doing different things. There’s also a small wall of M&M’s, in different colours, different groups, and different flavours. I’ve been to the one in Las Vegas in the past, and the wall of M&M’s here isn’t anywhere near as huge, but still pretty cool. The flavours include milk chocolate, peanut, peanut butter, dark chocolate, and new flavour – Pretzel! Haven’t tried that yet, but will have to before I leave!

I found a couple of cute things for one of my nieces, bought them then left. It was getting close to time to head to the theatre, so I headed slowly back to it. There was a line of people waiting for doors to open, so I joined in. They moved quite fast and I was soon in and walking up 2 flights of stairs. I got to the top, was directed to my seat, and realised just how high up I was!! It was quite steep, but at the same time, it meant I was quite close to the stage, which considering I was up the top, up the back, I was quite impressed!

The show was fantastic! It was set in the 50’s, and about a young white man, who was the first to play “coloured” music on “white” radio stations. He paved the way for coloured artists in a predominantly white world. He also fell in love with one of the young singers he played on the radio. It was quite a Notebook style story, as they weren’t allowed to be together, and needless to say the ending had me in tears! If you ever get the chance to see it, please do!!

I got out of the show at around 5ish, to find the sun had gone down, but it was just as bright anyway because of all the lights! I walked over to Forever 21 (My absolute favourite store here) to have a bit of a look. I think I would have been in there probably an hour or so – and that was me going through it quite quickly! The Times Square store is 4 levels, and each level is HUGE! I ended up buying 4 tops – 2 summer, 2 winter.

From there I grabbed something to eat, and then headed towards the subway to catch the train home. Back at the hostel, I put the TV on, planned on writing my blog, but ended up falling asleep watching the Screen Actor’s Guild Awards!

Madi got in at around 12.30 which woke me up, we chatted a bit about our days, then found Grey’s Anatomy was on – so we watched 2 eps of that, then finally went back to sleep!

Advertisement



2nd February 2011

Glad you enjoyed the show hun! I'm looking forward to gorging on M&M's and Hershey's across the street! And Magnolia Bakery, and this pizza you keep on about, and McDonald's US-style and... oh god, I'm gunna need a wider seat on the flight home! :oD x x
3rd February 2011

m&ms
pretzerl flavour?!?!?!?! WTF.... i miss the peanut butter ones... if u havnt tried them..try the coconut ones..they are AWESOME!!
3rd February 2011

I'll have to bring the Pretzel ones home for everyone to try, and Mich, there isn't any coconut here anymore... Whether they're just in Vegas, or discontinued I'm not sure... There's only the flavours I mentioned in the blog! =(

Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0476s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb