Day 33 - New York City


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
August 19th 2009
Published: September 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Got up early and headed down to Battery Park with Caddie to meet up with Lauren, UK Mich, Steve and Nathan. Got our tickets for the ferry out to see the Statue of Liberty. It’s big… But not as big as I thought it would be. It was still pretty cool to see. Once we were on the Island, we lost the others, so Mich and I just took lots of photos ourselves, or found other Aussie tourists to take photos of us =)
We headed back to the ferry and found all the others on there. Before taking us back to Manhattan, the ferry stops at Ellis Island. We decided to skip that stop, as we don’t really know a lot about Ellis Island anyway, and had more important things to do and see!
We said bye to the others and headed to Times Square with Loz to pick up our tickets for Mary Poppins, Loz managed to get a last minute ticket to the same show, so the 3 of us were able to go together, though we were sitting apart.
We were about an hour early for the show so we had some lunch, then headed back to the New Amsterdam to see the show!!! It was absolutely fantastic! However, and this is only my opinion, Melbourne can put on just as good a show… and therefore I didn’t really understand the hype of Broadway… I think the only thing that makes Broadway shows better is that there is so many of them, you could see a differently show every night of the week, where you can’t do that here. The quality of the shows themselves I think are excellent on both parts. So going with all that, I can’t wait to see Mary Poppins again when it gets to Melbourne!!
Oh, Michelle and I also had front row seats… Front row, center. We could touch the musical conductor if we’d have wanted to =P
After M. Pop, we went for a walk and did some shopping… H&M, Macy’s, Forever 21…
We’d organized to have a goodbye dinner with Carl this night. Appropriately, we had it at Maccas, seeing is that’s where we’d spent majority of our time together =P
After dinner, we were all walking down stairs… Carl with his arm around me coz I was already choking up =(
We had some final “awesome foursome” photos with the yellow cabs in the background. We then parted ways, I couldn’t look at Carl coz I knew if I did I would cry… and once we walked away I did =( Miss you Carl!!!!
We headed back to our hostel after an exhausting day.

Advertisement



14th September 2009

Awww Marnee my angel! You're so, so sweet! I love you so much, you're such a beautiful person inside and out. Miss you soooooo much. :o( And it's good to see that you're finally getting around to finishing your blogs! x x x

Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0491s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb