Bright lights of New York....


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
April 2nd 2009
Published: April 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well I am now back in blighty and will confess that I would have done anything to avoid being here....

Having left Quebec behind I landed in Newark and made my way to my hotel in Manhatten. Having dropped off all my bags I made my way onto the streets of New York to meet up with Mum and Dad who were shopping in Macy's. The walk down Broadway from Times Square was a mad one due to the traffic and the people and it was such an antithesis to Mont-Sainte-Anne that my head struggled to cope with it. I was duly met by Mum and Dad who, I think, were glad to "see my ugly mug"!!

We spent the next four days doing the usual sightseeing in and around New York. We had a great time although I think I walked Mum and Dad to death. I can honestly say that whilst New York is a city that you have to see to believe. It is not somewhere that I feel the need to return anytime soon and it just confirmed that I am country girl at heart and the big cities are good for a night out or a visit for a few days but thereafter I need to escape to peace and quiet.

We left Manhatten in true style and got a limo to the airport. We had ordered a taxi however the stretch limo rolled up and provided us with much amusement although Dad and I had to have my ski bag on the floor by our feet since limos don't have a large boot (trunk).

The flight home was delayed by three hours due to a huge electrical storm however we eventually landed in Manchester at 9am Monday morning. After a few hours sleep life was back to normal and the unpacking and washing started.

"Normal" unemployed life has now started although I don't seem to have had much time to sit and watch tv. My first true day at home was spent doing paperwork. Yesterday I had to briefly go and sort out my house in Ramsbottom although that did give me an excuse to go and spend the rest of the day with H and the kids - Auntie Andrea was home and needed her Jessica and Jacob fix. A chilled night with Rachel, a visit to the dentist, lunch with a few friends and a haircut have also been slotted into the last 24 hours.

It seems that my time is very much in demand and I am currently wondering how I am going to fit visiting everyone in as well as preparing for the next leg of my trip - only time will tell if I am ready on the 4th May or if I leave with things in disarray behind me with various requests for Mum and Dad to help me out.

The next big event is being a bridesmaid at Tim and Janes wedding in Newcastle on the 19th April - bless them the date was arranged around my travel plans. I think Jane is just grateful that I have come back with no broken limbs and my bruises will have disappeared by the wedding and my brother i think is just glad that I decided to return to the country rather than stay in Canada.



Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

The view from my hotel windowThe view from my hotel window
The view from my hotel window

The white light on the left hand side of the picture is Times Square


Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 34; dbt: 0.0262s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb