First Day of the Trip


Advertisement
Published: May 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Grandparents' HouseGrandparents' HouseGrandparents' House

Front of their house on Long Island. They have lived here for as long as I've been alive and probably longer.
Today my family and I left our town of Ft. Myers to fly to New York. New York is just a pit stop until our major flight tomorrow for Hong Kong. My parents originally came to New York when they first immigrated to the US so we have a good amount of family living on Long Island.

Our flight left at 11:00 am and we arrived at 1:45 pm. I hate small planes. I really do, they freak me out. This plane was pretty small but not too bad. Luckily, the weather was perfect so the flight was completely smooth. Plus, my mom brought drugs.

My mom has two sisters and a brother. My favorite is the younger sister since she was young and hip and I looked up to her. She's not so young anymore though since she just had her second child. His name is Alex and he is so adorable, only two months old! I never realized how wiggly babies were. o_O

That's basically what we did once we got here, visited my younger aunt to play with the baby. We ended up back at my grandparents' house where the rest of my extended family
The Living RoomThe Living RoomThe Living Room

One of the first things my brother did when we got here was set up the PS2.
joined us. My grandmother cooked one of her huge buffet-style dinners for us. Every time I visit, my grandma knows exactly what to cook for me. Best grandma ever.

That's pretty much it, hung out with my younger cousin who's in that teenage angsty stage but she's dealing with it pretty well.

Thank Bob for being able to borrow the neighbor's wireless internet, whichever neighbor that might be.

Tomorrow is our flight to Hong Kong. It's a 15 hour non-stop flight. I'm not sure what I'll end up doing but I've brought a endless supply of electronic entertainment such as laptop, portable dvd player, Nintendo DS, and iPod. I'll make sure to take pictures of how jetlagged I look.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

My RoomMy Room
My Room

This is the room I typically stay in. It used to be my older aunt's room and then it was my younger aunt's room.
Computer!!!Computer!!!
Computer!!!

They added a computer to my room and it's nicely borrowing the neighbor's wireless.
The BathroomThe Bathroom
The Bathroom

This is a bathroom connected to an even smaller bedroom. The smaller bedroom is right across a tiny hall from the room I stay in. Look at how old this bathroom is. o_O
Snorlax Bath PuffSnorlax Bath Puff
Snorlax Bath Puff

Dude, I must've left this Snorlax (Pokemon) bath puff here a while ago. o_O
Garden Garden
Garden

My grandma has a cute garden area set up in the back where she grows her own vegetables.
Me in GardenMe in Garden
Me in Garden

I figure I should stick a picture of me in here at some point.


29th May 2006

THE FIRST COMMENT
It's a nice day for a trip! Hurrah! Yay China! I am an independent individual! Not whipped at all!
30th May 2006

I <3 Christine's Travel Blog!!!
Awesome travel blog Christine. I <3 it! Can't wait to read more about your adventure. xoxo, Lila
31st May 2006

Dude that house is so freaking quaint! I love it! Have fun kid!

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb