The Plane Ride


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong
May 29th 2006
Published: May 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Cup NoodlesCup NoodlesCup Noodles

I saw the flight attendants passing these out and I got excited.
The plane ride was really long. o_O We took Cathay Pacific. Took off at 4:00 pm on May 29th, arrived at Hong Kong International Airport at 8:30 pm on May 30th.

The first six hours were alright since I was able to occupy myself with the tv screen. Each seat had an individual monitor. They showed several movies but I only watched a few of them. I wached Narnia, Pocahontas, and Lady and the Tramp. They were also showing Brokeback Mountain, Underworld, the second Underworld, and I can't remember what else. Either way, I wanted cute and funny movies, not dramatic, actiony ones although I suppose those Disney movies had a little drama and a little action. The tv also had several channels which showed the same episodes of random shows repeatedly. I watched the same Simpsons episode three times. It was the one where Marge gets the Chanel suit and she almost joins the country club with the family.

The food was pretty awesome I have to say. I had ziti with cheese and pesto. Mmm... random side items that tasted good. Since Cathay Pacific is based in Hong Kong and very much Chinese, there were also random
MonitorMonitorMonitor

One of the channels on the tv showed the current plane/flight information such as altitude, temperature outside, time until arrival, and a map showing where we were. I got excited when we were over the North Pole.
snacks of the Asian variety. At one point I got Cup Noodles and Cha Siu Bao which is a Chinese Pork Bun. You could get drinks and snacks at any point in time, just have to ask. That was really nice of them and an understandable way of keeping people sane.

I brought a buttload of things to do on the plane but didn't actually put any of them to use. o_O My carry-on was so fat and I didn't want to have to get it out and take crap out, then put it back in when I was done. I'm too lazy. So the tv screen was nice. It also had games you could play and most of them were connected with the whole plane so you could play with random people. I played Mahjong with my brother, no one else played it. There was a trivia game that a decent amount of people played. I won a few times cause I'm awesome. Was like Trivial Pursuit though, some of the questions were impossible.

When it got to 8 hours left of the ride I thought I would try to sleep the rest of the time as
My brother, the dorkMy brother, the dorkMy brother, the dork

At one point on the flight my brother decided to play with the blanket he was provided by making a turban, or wrapping up his entire head as if he was the Invisible man.
if I was sleeping until the next day, blah blah blah. Try to stave off the jetlag. I only ended up sleeping 3 hours.

I was a little on edge for the rest of the trip because as were going over Siberia, there was some turbulence. Ever since the stupid-small-plane-North-Carolina flight in December, I've become even wussier than ever before. Luckily my family was with me so it wasn't too bad but I should've asked my mom for more drugs. She slept for most of the flight, lucky mommy.

We finally arrived in Hong Kong and it was awesome. The airport is so freaking huge and let me tell you now, Hong Kong is a mecca for shopping and their airport is no exception.

My uncle, his wife, and 11 year old cousin came to greet us. We took a bus to our hotel and I remembered how crazy the driving is in HK.

Our hotel is actually in Kowloon, which is north of Hong Kong Island, and a body of water separates the two. Although all those together make "Hong Kong" as people know it. I donno, I only recently read up on the geography
Beware of Electric Cars, they will kill youBeware of Electric Cars, they will kill youBeware of Electric Cars, they will kill you

One of the awesome signs that can be found at the Hong Kong International Airport.
since the last time I was here was 7 years ago and I did not care to learn about it or go out on my own.

We dropped off our stuff, went out to eat and you know what time it was? 11:00 pm. One of the reasons why I enjoy HK so much is because most places don't close until midnight. By places I mean restaurants, shops, normal stuff. I'm sure there are bars and clubs that are open passed midnight but I like normal stuff staying open because things close early in the states. At least in Gainesville. :P Except for Wal-mart. o_O


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Tired...Tired...
Tired...

I was going to say I don't know why I was smiling since I was exhausted but it's probably because we were on land. A really cool land of tall buildings, mountains, and shopping.


1st June 2006

Kowloon
I stayed in Kowloon when I was in "Hong Kong" too. I don't know if we pronounced it right, but we said COW-LOON. I like it because it makes me think of you because you like fat cows. (You draw them very well.) Hehe. Funny. xoxo, Lila

Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0224s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb