Aguirre Springs to Socorro, NM


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Mexico
September 25th 2013
Published: October 18th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Aguirre Springs to Socorro


25 September – Aguirre Springs to Socorro – I headed out from the Aguirre Springs campground and back over the Organ Mountains to Las Cruces. As I headed West I was facing a long, long line of headlights of cars heading East out of Los Cruces. Evidently most of the personnel working at Holloman Air Force Base and at the Condron Army Air Field have chosen to live in Las Cruces. It is really incredible the amount of gas consumed in this country by people commuting to their work.

When I got to Las Cruces I turned north on I-25. I first headed to the rest area north of Las Cruces where I took a break, checked up on a few things on the internet, and had a bowl of cereal for breakfast.

I had decided I wanted to visit the site of the former Ft Selden near Radium Springs. So I headed north of the rest area a bit and then made a “U turn” on the crossover marked “Official Business Only” and headed south towards Radium. I took the exit at the sign for Ft Selden off of I-25 and checked out the ruins of the Fort.
Former Parade GroundFormer Parade GroundFormer Parade Ground

This was the parade ground that Douglas MacArthur talked about being one of his first memories as a child.
Those familiar with Douglas MacArthur’s old soldier “fading away” speech will remember the part where he talks of his first memories of the bugle blowing and the parade ground. This was when his father was assigned as Post Commander of Ft Selden. It was also “where he learned how to ride and shoot before he learned how to read and write”. Since Ft Selden was built of adobe brick only ruins remain of it now but it is still not difficult to imagine the fort as seen by young Douglas MacArthur with the mountainous background.

Coming out of Ft Selden I decided to go up Hwy 185 alongside the Rio Grande to maybe get a closer look at the landscapes. I soon found out that the views were better from the Interstate than from this highway as it was a view of mostly dusty hills on one side and farmland and orchards on the other. The Rio Grande was sucked dry for irrigation and wasn’t much more that a narrow stream of muddy water between wide banks on each side suggesting that it swelled during seasonal floods.

In any case I headed north on Hwy 185 and was
The Rio GrandeThe Rio GrandeThe Rio Grande

Sucked almost dry by irrigation and dams
a bit surprised to see Border Patrol SUV’s about. In a bit I came to a Border Patrol station where I stopped at the window where 3 Border Patrol guys were starting up a BBQ pit to cook some BBQ. It smelled good. They asked if I was an American citizen and I said yes and then they let me go on. I would seem to me if I were a smuggler I would use the Interstate rather than this little road so that I could merge in with the higher volume of traffic. But oh well, it’s none of my business. I personally cannot have any quarrel with someone who is just trying to feed his family.

After my stop at the Border Patrol Station I continued north on 185 looking for the first place I could get back on I-25 again. I did so at a place called Hatch and continued north.

I drove by Elephant Butte Lake State park because I had read that the Elephant Butte is under the water of the lake. So no reason to go there.

A bit further north I stopped at a rest area to take a break and noticed a sign for the El Camino Real International Heritage Center. So I headed out East over the Desert to check it out. It was an interesting little museum that told the story of early settlers traveling the El Camino Road from Vera Cruz, Mexico to the settlements north of Santa Fe. The settlers traveled it by walking and ox carts. Actually I think I would have just stayed in Vera Cruz rather that cross all those deserts on foot.

After checking out the museum I decided to just go to Socorro and see if they had a cheap hotel room there. I mean……who wants to go to Socorro anyway so the rooms ought to be cheap. I picked one out of the ones as I went through town and it was nothing to brag about but only $34 a night including tax.

Their wifi worked ok and the room was clean although worn. Nevertheless it was nice to have a room with a hot shower I could use. So I settled in and got a good night’s sleep. The next day I intended to head on to Santa Fe as it was too soon to go to Albuquerque for the Balloon Fiesta.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Inside the museumInside the museum
Inside the museum

I'm sure it was slow going with ox carts and wooden wheels.
The Chihuahuan desertThe Chihuahuan desert
The Chihuahuan desert

My luxurious transportation and shelter.....no oxcart or dusty tent for me.
Cheapo room in SocorroCheapo room in Socorro
Cheapo room in Socorro

I don't really recommend this place. Perhaps I should have tried another.


18th October 2013

Back roads
Those back roads don't always have the best views but are interesting to take any way. Glad the border patrol was friendly.
20th October 2013

back roads
Yes, I have turned up some very interesting discoveries by taking the road less traveled.
20th October 2013

Heat and blue skies !
Looks hot there, William. The Rio Grande looks a little dissapointing . I won't put Socorro on my bucket list then eh? Cheers , Lynne ( in the White Mnts now )
20th October 2013

Rio Grande
Yes , the Rio Grande has a tuff time of it. I have literally been from the headwater of it in the Colorado Rockies to where it is just a bed of mud at the Gulf of Mexico. It is sucked dry for irrigation and industry. Nothing "Grande" about it. Still.....one has to be careful. I have been looking at a near dry riverbed and a very few minutes later a flash flood upstream had it flooding and washing people downstream......and also RV's.
20th October 2013

Rio Grande
Yes , the Rio Grande has a tuff time of it. I have literally been from the headwater of it in the Colorado Rockies to where it is just a bed of mud at the Gulf of Mexico. It is sucked dry for irrigation and industry. Nothing "Grande" about it. Still.....one has to be careful. I have been looking at a near dry riverbed and a very few minutes later a flash flood upstream had it flooding and washing people downstream......and also RV's.

Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.029s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.03s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb