Cloudcroft, Aguirre Springs, and Los Cruces


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Mexico » Las Cruces
September 24th 2013
Published: October 3rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Cloudcroft to Las Cruces, Mesilla, and Aguirre Springs


Camping at Aguirre SpringsCamping at Aguirre SpringsCamping at Aguirre Springs

The campground on the east slope of the Organ Mountains provides a magnificent desert view
September 23 – Monday – Cloudcroft to North of Las Cruces - I came down off the mountain in Cloudcroft and did some rat killing in Alamogordo and then drove across the Chihuahuan desert and over the Organ Mountains pass, then up I-25 to north of Las Cruces for the evening.

I had not intended to drive to north of Las Cruces but had intended to go to the Aguirre Springs campground on the Eastern slope of the Organ Mountains. They close the gate going to the campground at 7PM sharp. I got there at 7:20 PM and the park host said the gate was closed. It was about 100 yards from her trailer to the gate and I guess she didn’t want to walk down to it to let me in or whatever but she said the gate closed at 7PM. I told her I saw a gate open but she said that was the exit gate. I considered that I could drive in the exit gate and started to ask her about that but decided not to (I found out the next day there are those spikes that shred your tires if you try to go in the
Morning in New MexicoMorning in New MexicoMorning in New Mexico

Morning at the rest area north of Las Cruces
wrong way on the exit gate). The park host offered that I could park in the field behind her trailer if I wished but to me that negated the entire point of visiting the Aguirre Springs campground which is the view across the desert.

So I drove over the Organ Mountains pass and into Las Cruces then about 15 miles north to a very nice rest area I had stayed in before. It is at the southern end of the Jornada del Muerto across a 90 mile stretch of desert with no food or water (at least in the 1600’s).

They have some very well lighted picnic tables with roofs on them and I was able to get out my maps, computer, and guide books and do a bit of homework. Then I got in the truck, locked the doors, let the seat back and used the big blanket for the night. It was a bit brisk. I have 3 blankets, one light weight, one medium, and one a heavy spread. Tonight was one of those heavy spread nights.



Tuesday Sept. 24 – North of Las Cruces – Morning - Last night I stayed at a very nice rest area north of Las Cruces. They have some very nice covered picnic areas with good lighting at night. Today I am checking out Old Mesilla near Las Cruces and then probably will go over the mountains East again to stay at the Aguirre Springs campground on the east slope of the Organ Mountains tonight.

I have gotten one of those Verizon Hot Spot devices and am using the No Contract plan. It gives me 5GB of use a month for $50. I was surprised that it worked so well way out here in the Chihuahuan desert. It worked good. I used it last night and this morning to get on the internet. It has a rechargeable battery that I charge usually while driving down the road as I have one of those small adaptors that plug into the cigarette lighter. I am very well pleased with it.

Tuesday afternoon – I had a very nice day checking out Mesilla which is a bit south of Las Cruces on Hwy 28. It had a very nice square and on the side of the square was the former courthouse (now gift shop) that Billy the Kid
Old Courthouse in MesillaOld Courthouse in MesillaOld Courthouse in Mesilla

Old courthouse in Mesilla where Billy the Kid was tried and sentenced to be hanged. I never have quite understood why he had to go to Mesilla to be tried.
was tried and sentenced to be hanged in. Across the street is the La Posta de Mesilla which was formerly an Inn and where I had my lunch. It was one of the best dining experiences I have had. The restaurant is very colorfully decorated and the food was very good and lots of it. And my meal was only $16 before tip. Quite a good deal.

http://www.laposta-de-mesilla.com/ La Posta was originally an inn and Billy the Kid, Pancho Villa, and Douglas MacArthur, stayed there. And now William ate there!

After I finished my meal and relaxing on the square a bit I drove to the library in Los Cruces for a bit and got on their internet (partially to save my usage on my wireless hot spot and partially because they had air conditioning, and partially because I wanted to be able to spread out my maps an paperwork). Then I went back out on Hwy 70 and drove over the Organ Mountains to the other side and get a campsite for tonight at the Aguirre Springs campground. The reviews on it say the evening views of the desert from the campground are stunning.

When I
La PostaLa PostaLa Posta

Now a restaurant, it was originally an Inn and stage stop.
got to the campground I drove on up to the campground and picked out a good spot and paid for it. With my senior pass it cost me $3.50 for the night if I figured it right as the pricing was confusing.

I settled in for the evening and enjoyed the view which was quite stunning, although mosquitoes were a problem after a bit. I made sure the windows on my truck were shut tightly so as to keep them from going in there before I went to bed. Fortunately it was cool enough that I could shut my windows. There was only one other couple there and the campground was quiet.


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



3rd October 2013

Rat Killing?
What? I'll need more details on that. I hate rats. Looks like you are taking the slow road. That is great. Looking forward to reading more.
3rd October 2013

Rat Killing
: ) Rat killing is a Texas expression meaning taking care of details that need attending to before getting down to the task at hand. In this particular case eating, checking emails, getting gas, checking the fluids of the truck, and air pressure on the tires etc. before heading across the desert towards Aguirre Springs.
3rd October 2013

Dining
Looks like a great restaurant and I loved the art work. You do seem to get into some really deserted places...wonderful. Don't think I could just sleep in the back of a truck ... RV is more my style. Is the government shut down affecting your travels..if the Nat parks are closed , do they just leave the gates open but don't collect fees ? Or shut the gates , I just can't imagine Grand Canyon Or Yosemite being closed to visitors . Hope your govt crisis gets sorted soon. Happy travels Lynne
3rd October 2013

Camping and the "shutdown"
I wouldn’t sleep in the back of a truck either. I’d be trapped there if something happened. For instance a bear invaded my camp in Fort Davis, Texas and tried to get into the back of my truck where the food was. If I had been there I would have been trapped. I had to abandon my camp and come back the next morning for my stuff. When I sleep in my truck I let the driver’s seat of my truck down flat and sleep there with the key in the ignition. I park in such a way that I can just go forward to get out in a hurry if I have to. I am not fearful, I just take reasonable precautions. I would prefer a small RV but would probably have to get in debt to get one and I just can’t stand the thought of being in debt. I’m debt free and like it that way. Probably for what the cost of renting an RV is I could rent a budget hotel room and have the freedom and flexibility of driving my truck. With my truck and its 4 wheel drive I can go places no RV could. When I sleep in a truck it is comforting to me that I am saving the $58 to $65 that day that a hotel room would cost. In effect I get a “free” day. The government “shutdown” is having a bit of an effect on campers. They are closing the gates and locking them on most Forest Service campgrounds which is usually where I stay free or cheap. But I could still go “dispersed camping” if I wish which means just drive down a forest road in a National Forest or BLE land and find a good spot…Free…… and there is still SuperWalmart or Rest areas. It takes a bit of courage but I have an abundance of that. You can be sure the gate on the road to Yosemite or the Grand Canyon is locked. They always pick these “high visibility” sites when they play these games. It’s all smoke as far as the shutdown, Just politics. You can be sure no congressman’s salary will be affected. Some people may not get paid on time but they will be paid eventually. As for me I am going to do what I always do, which is to ignore all the nonsense and go about my business : > )

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0556s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb