Class is over


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Mexico
November 20th 2007
Published: November 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Blast OffBlast OffBlast Off

Thousands of Snow Geese take to the sky in an afternoon liftoff from one of the ponds on the refuge.
It’s been full speed ahead for the last 3 days. I’ve learned a lot, been up by 4:30 (or earlier) every day and not made it to bed until after 10 pm. I took over 2700 images and have yet to really look at any of them. Hopefully I got a few good shots.

The weather has been unusually warm out here. It was down around freezing each morning (about 27 this morning before sunrise) but warmed up nicely soon after the sun came up. Tonight we even had warm winds in our faces as the sun set - which was bad for the photography (not the warmth but direction - coming from the west!). Right now it’s the warmest of any evening. But the forecast is for it to cool down the rest of the week.

Tomorrow is going to be a low key day. I plan to do some housekeeping (laundry and cleaning the RV) and wash the Jeep. During the Festival of the Cranes, they watered down the dirt road that loops through the refuge and my Jeep is VERY dirty. But it was nice they kept the dust down with the crowds for the festival. It was quite dusty today.

I did manage to look at a few of the images from this week. Here is a shot of an afternoon “blastoff” - when thousands of Snow Geese take flight from ponds. We were on the main road through the refuge and didn’t have access to the pond but were able to see them when they flew off.

Hopefully I will have some more pictures to share with you tomorrow.

If I don’t get an update posted on Wednesday I’d like to wish everyone a very HAPPY THANKSGIVING. I pray you have a safe holiday and get to enjoy it with family and friends.

Bruce


Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0322s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb