Julesburg , Colorado-Ogallala, Neb-Scotts Bluff, Neb


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Nebraska
October 15th 2011
Published: October 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Saturday Oct 15 and Sunday Oct 16 - After a good nights rest at Julesburg I took a U turn at Ogallala after driving around in it a bit as the only reason I wanted to go there is because it was featured in the movie Lonesome Dove. I then headed back Northwest to Scotts Bluff , Neb. I toured the Morman trail, Chimney Rock and Scotts Bluff and went to Register Cliff in Wyoming then was planning on heading north on Hwy 85 to the Black Hills but had a oil cooler line leak in Scotts Bluff, Nebraska.
October 16 Scotts Bluff to Colorado Springs....
Overnighted in Scotts Bluff last night at the SuperWalmart 3322 Ave I at Hwy 26 . I found a pool of Oil under my truck in the morning and found that the oil cooler line where the connection with the hose is crimped had went from slow oil leak to a trickle. So I got some electrical tape and cleaned it thoroughly and taped it tight with Electrical tape.
So my plans are changed once again. I Headed west to I-25 stopping to check out Register Cliff in Guernsey on the way and then headed south on I-25 towards Denver. I stopped at the MacDonalds in Wellington, Colorado to check my emails and do some homework on weekly rental hotels in Denver. I believe Denver would be the best place to get it fixed as I had it fixed there before for something else and they did a good job and it has a good bus system so I will be able to take the bus to get around while my truck is getting fixed.
Evening;
I went by the Intown Suites in Denver and their office was closed because it was Sunday, so I couldn’t rent a room there. I didn’t see anything else I liked that much so I just went on to The Springs.
I'm back in Colorado Spring and booked a room for tonight and tomorrow night at the Travelodge on Hwy 24 West. The patch up job I did on my oil cooler hose of my truck this morning held up very well. I drove 350 miles today with the leak closed by electrical tape.
I'll spend a couple of days here and think things over.


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Chimney rockChimney rock
Chimney rock

A welcome site to travelers as it meant they were finally getting across the endless prarie.
Morman camp markerMorman camp marker
Morman camp marker

On the Mormon trail the first group of Mormans set up camps for those who followed. The Mormon trail was on the North side of the rive theOregon ta
CaveCave
Cave

A property owner blasted a cave in the Register Cliff. It kept his vegetables cool in summer and from freezing in winter.
Marker for the Pony ExpressMarker for the Pony Express
Marker for the Pony Express

The pony express set up a marker here
locked outlocked out
locked out

the gate to the wagon wheel ruts in the rock area was locked
gate lockedgate locked
gate locked

The gate to the wagon wheel ruts was locked. I waited till after 0900 but no one came to unlock it.


Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0443s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb