CCMA - Day 3


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Nebraska » Omaha
September 8th 2012
Published: September 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

WinmillsWinmillsWinmills

windmills
We got an early start from Joliet and were optimistic that we were going to have a good day riding, it was a little cool, but not cold, and not a cloud in the sky. The weather report said that the temperature along out route would be in the mid to high 70’s – perfect riding weather. After we got on the highway we discovered what the weather report didn’t tell us – it was really, really windy – horrible conditions for riding.



There weren’t as many trucks as there were near Chicago, but there were enough to be a real nuisance. We tucked in our elbows, ducked our heads and continued on, stopping more frequently than we had on the previous days.



As we moved across Iowa, the scenery became more beautiful, which made the difficult riding conditions bearable, knowing that we were getting close to the part of the trip where we could spend more time sightseeing and relaxing and less time riding to get somewhere.



We knew the first three days of this trip weren’t going to be great, but it turned out not to be as bad as
Hoover's BirthplaceHoover's BirthplaceHoover's Birthplace

Hoover's Birthplace
we expected. We traveled 487 miles in 10.5 hours yesterday from Joliet, Illinois to Omaha, Nebraska, which puts us 1,338 miles into our journey, which is a little further than we planned.



In the morning we saw some windmills and when I stopped to take a picture, Rick made fun of me, saying that we have those in New Jersey.



We got off of the highway and went to some small town (whose name escapes me) where the gps said we would find a steak house. The ride there was fascinating because it was country road in an area that was about as sparsely populated as you can get. It was actually a very nice ride. When we got to the town, it had maybe 12 houses and a bar that didn’t look like anyplace we would want to eat. We drove 15 –20 miles down the road to Atlantic, Iowa, where we had a very nice dinner at the Feedlot Steakhouse.



Everyone we have met since leaving Pennsylvania has been very friendly, quite a different experience than what we are used to back home.



Even though it was beginning to get a little late, we decided to ride to Omaha after dinner. As it was getting late, the sun was low in the sky, and we were driving right toward it. Although this made riding challenging (to put it mildly), because of the shadows and silhouettes, it was exceptionally beautiful. On our way to Omaha, we came upon a veritable forest of windmills, which, with the setting sun behind them, were very picturesque. Unfortunately it was getting dark and it wouldn’t have been safe to stop and get a picture.



Rick, (remember the guy who made fun of me earlier?) came on the radio and said it was unfortunate that we couldn’t get a picture.



The sun set as we were riding to Omaha, it was neat seeing the sun set over the plains of Iowa.



Yesterday I got my first National Park Stamp at West Branch, Iowa at the Herbert Hoover National Historic Site. Only 49 more stamps and 24 more states to go!!! I tried to convince Rick & Bill to collect stamps as well, to no avail.



Today’s weather looks good and it should be much more leisurely than the past three days. I have scheduled a few stops at National Parks, etc. today.



I won’t have time to upload any pictures this morning, I will do it as soon as we get a long break somewhere there is wireless. Which, by the way, they have at the highway rest stops in Iowa.



Did I mention that we crossed the Mississippi River yesterday? That was definitely a milestone.



A couple of people texted us this morning wanting to know why I hadn’t posted a blog from yesterday. I apologize, we didn’t get to Omaha until very late, and by the time we unloaded our bikes and got settled, I was too beat to do any writing.



I intended this blog to be a record of our trip that I could refer to to help jog my memory in the years to come. I also intended it to be a way Chris, my children and my grandchildren could keep abreast of where I am and what I am doing.



I think it is great that there are other people interested in following our adventure, and it is really nice when they leave comments. For some reason, it makes the trip more interesting for me.

Advertisement



9th September 2012

Welcome to the West!!
Crossing the Mississippi ? Welcome back to the west.... your trip will be much more pleasant from here on... your blog is interesting and informative, and yes I was disappointed last night as well..... glad to see your notes this morning....... We are all (in our family) tracking your trip and anxious to hear your adventures every day. Drive Safe!! Have Fun!!!
10th September 2012

In the west
By the time I get to where we are going and unpack, etc. I am too beat to type a blog. We are going to try and leave earlier so that we have more time in the evening.
9th September 2012

Wow!
Thinking of all the days I've spent on a motorcycle and seeing the map of where you are already ... wow. It's a bit awe inspiring. And you have so much ahead of you! What a neat idea about the National Park stamps.
10th September 2012

Had a laugh
I, too, remember my crossing the Mississippi milestone, I just did it into downtown St. Louis. I had the laugh at the WIND comment. I found out about the wind in about the same place you did. Not surprised the weather didn't mention it. It is a constant plague out there. Look on the bright side, the wind is good on the way back, nicely sailing you along. I see on the tracker you left the freeway. Way cool, must be really different with all that freaky emptiness. I would have liked to do more secondary road riding, but being by myself, I wanted to stay on the freeway to maintain cell service. Looking forward to the next blog.
10th September 2012

Great Blog!!
Hi Dave. I am really enjoying your blog, Rick's pictures and the map. Sounds like a great trip.

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0635s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb