Across the Plains


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Missouri » St Louis
July 2nd 2009
Published: July 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

One of the things that I hate about driving cross-country is dealing with the Plains. No offense, but Kansas is so boring, so imagine my surprise as I pull into the first rest stop and see that it offers free wireless internet. It worked great and I was able to make the requisite post to Facebook but little did I know that it must have been the only wireless equipped rest stop in the State because I didn't see another one. The best surprise in crossing Kansas was the wind farm. It sits very close to the highway near Salina called the Smoky Hills Wind Farm. They seemed to come out of nowhere and every time I turned a corner there was another one waiting for me. You can check out the project here http://www.kansasenergy.org/wind_projects.htm After breezing through Kansas City I headed towards the fine State of Missouri and an overnight stay at my sister Rowena's house in Ballwin, just outside of St. Louis. I have driven this trip many times over the years and I thought of one road trip that I made with Chris when the flooding was so bad. I think it was in the early 90's and we just got across the bridges that are halfway through the State and found out later that the highway had been closed that night. We certainly saw the high water coming up over the bank. But I digress. I got to Ballwin just as Tom, Rowena's husband, was pulling in. It turned into a raucous evening as brother Rob came over, Rowena took charge, helped me sort my stuff and Rob took off to store all of the things that I hope to have shipped out to me later on. Heck, she even came up with suitcases and a daypack that she packed for me. I gave her all of my fabulous Scrabble stuff so she can bone up for our next online game. I left my Marietta stuff with Rob and presented him with my rapier which will complete his pirate ensemble. Exhausted I tumbled into bed around 11pm.

Advertisement



18th March 2012

Better late than....... .
I have just come across this and hope I can find more. 3/18/12
18th March 2012

Better late than....... .
I have just come across this and hope I can find more. 3/18/12

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0491s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb