Leaving Denver


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Denver
July 1st 2009
Published: July 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well I worked all night, cleaned out the apartment, put the last of my things in storage, crammed the car full and hit the road. I got exactly 165 miles before I realized that it was too hot and I was too tired to continue, having stayed up all night so I pulled into the last Colorado outpost of Burlington. Found a room in a tiny motel called the Hi-Lo which was proudly owned by Americans and felt a little bit like a Hitchcock movie. I was so tired and it was only noon but it had air conditioning and a bed. I slept the sleep of the righteous and woke up around 7pm thinking that I would hit the road. I took a quick tour of the town and picked up some trash bags at the local Safeway having decided that I needed to jettison some of the stuff in the car. I managed a fairly hefty bag of trash that conveniently ended up in the dumpster outside and then decided to tackle the clothing. I did the triage that I have been perfecting for the last two months and managed to find two full bags of clothing that could go to the Goodwill. Alas, Burlington didn't have anything thta passed for a thrift store so I left a sticky note on them for the housecleaning crew and hoped they would pass them along. I repacked the car, took another nap and finally left Colorado behind in the wee hours of the morning.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0344s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb