Homesteading 101


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Massachusetts » Worcester
September 2nd 2007
Published: September 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

sunrisesunrisesunrise

20 degrees to the left, you can actually see the prudential and hancock buildings in boston. 50 miles away. i must admit, this brings me some comfort.
Welcome to my flog.

If you have no idea what type of facility I’m at - you haven’t read my new bio - and that’s fine - plus, here’s a longer explanation of where in the world…

I’m spending the next two months working on a farm, of enormous dedication. It’s 270 acres sustaining livestock (guinea pigs to dzo), greener pastures (hillside paddocks to purple cauliflower plots), and humans (Texans to Tanzanians). Everyone’s here to learn farm stuff, sure - but more so to contribute to the work of the international development organization behind this all--a group which works to end hunger and poverty and works to care for the earth.

Or, as one farmhand put it today, “us, we take care of the animals and shit - you educators, you tell rich people how to spend their money.” Eloquent paraphrasing of the teamwork that keeps this place running.

Not to say this chic won’t be taking care of some animals and shit as well. Today during chores, I had a herd of thirsty cows comin’ at me and my water buckets - I hopped onto the back of a pick-up truck faster than you could say “vegetarian”. Much to the amusement of my rural counterparts.

Coming up this week during chores: goat milking and tractor driving. Are you kidding me?


Advertisement



Tot: 0.205s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 81; dbt: 0.0808s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb