Dewdew on the farm


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Massachusetts » Worcester
September 4th 2007
Published: September 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

pre-season foliagepre-season foliagepre-season foliage

New England woods. Without color, without tourists. But chock full of No Trespassing signs (notice the orange speckled tree). I've since skirted past them - but am well aware of when hunting season begins...
Determined to enjoy every minute of this experience, I woke up my first morning and forced a weary body out into the 6am, brisk New England air for a light hike. I strolled across the farm, solitude. I walked downslopeward to a decorative Chinese pagoda, treaded across dewdamp grass and grinned at the dopey Peruvian alpaca I love so much, climbed Tibetan hills to a yak-hair yurt and then crinkled leaves underfoot as I trespassed on Mexico in order to find the trailhead. I ambled through the ramble for 10 minutes, until I saw a threatening orange <> on my intended trajectory. I sheepishly snuck back south of the border, averted my eyes from Buddhist peace flags, nodded at Guatemalan goats I had missed on my first pass, and came round the back of the hay barn to catch a shower and some breakfast.

Later in the morning, I continued my globetrotting, harvesting kale from Kenya, onions from Peru and tomatoes from Appalachia in order to cook a traditional Thai meal. I’m exhausted already. More information on this Global Village forthcoming.

So, after 24 hours, I bounce between Farmer Kate, an adult at city slicker play; or Devoted Earthling,
nomenclature politicsnomenclature politicsnomenclature politics

our sign must read "the Chinese claimed region of the Tibetan plateau" or something like that. in any case, it's a yurt, and it's cool.
an adult pushing to the extreme the life skills I’m willing to learn and figuring out how I may go about continuing to lessen my impact on the earth and continuing to increase my awareness, admission and action in relation to how being an American affects the lives of other’s whose names I cannot even pronounce and who live in countries that most 6th graders in our country cannot locate on a map.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

andes candiesandes candies
andes candies

resident birds and amaranth cradle the Peruvian house...guinea pig and alpaca headshots to come.


Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0195s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb