Footy final


Advertisement
Published: July 14th 2012
Edit Blog Post

1st July We made it, finally we made it. Admittedly We made it with next to no sleep and a few women on the bus were lucky to be alive as rich did have to calm me down once or twice as I was about to start yelling abusive insults combined with the need for them to please be quiet. Michael with no sleep on a bus is a Michael to be wary of. Once we arrived we made our way to the taxi rank. Within the first month of our trip I think we got one taxi. We really prided ourselves on getting the local bus everywhere and to save money wherever. This isn't the case anymore. Now we have found that every greyhound station has the dodgiest people in and in the worst neighbourhood in town. Long journeys and ease of access to taxis has ensured we are fast losing money on taxis almost everywhere now. We arrived at our hostel at 8.30 am without being able to check in until 3pm. I hate it when this happens. Also over the last few days I have become pretty ill with dehydration. It really gets to you the heat. It takes away your appetite, constantly tired and stomach is constantly spinning. Not great for long journeys. Plus it wasn't going to get any colder in New Orleans. Just hotter and more humid. We headed towards the nearest breakfast place to where Rich got a big egg sandwich of some form and all i could manage was a little bit of fruit. I had eaten next to nothing in 48 hours. Not good. Back to the hostel to where we met an English guy called Oli. He was from Newcastle way. It's weird, I can understand the lads when they come from Newcastle but the girls, their accent is like a whole new language. Either way we instantly bonded over the football and went to find the nearest pub showing the euros finals between Spain and Italy. You can always count on the Irish pubs to come through. Rich and Oli had a few pints of the lovely Guinness, unfortunately my stomach can't handle anything but water at the moment. After the 4-0 thrashing spain bestowed upon Italy we headed back to the hostel. It was past 3pm and our room was ready. I quickly shot gunned the best bed and put my head down for a nap. This short nap actually went on for about 5 hours. I left the room to find rich making friends and chatting to Oli. It was a Sunday night so nobody was going to hit town. Lucky for me I get another day of rest as my body will not handle it. A few of us agreed that tomorrow we will head out into town and sample what New Orleans has to offer. I honestly can say it will be hard for anywhere to follow Miami.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0487s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb