24 hour greyhound


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Keys
June 30th 2012
Published: July 14th 2012
Edit Blog Post

30th 24 hour grey hound Our alarms went off at 5:30 AM in order for us to be up and about ready to catch a huge greyhound trip to New Orleans. This trip was going to take 26 hours. We packed up made sure we got everything and headed to reception to where we would get a taxi. In the past we have always had to make sure we're at the Greyhound station at least one hour before our journey. This time was no different. Our journey was just before 8 o'clock so we got there at about 6.30 just to be sure. In actuality Greyhound station didn't even open until 7.30. We had to wait outside the station in the horrible muggy drizzly rain for an hour. This wasn't the worst part of the day though, literally five minutes after buying my tickets I somehow managed to lose/someone stole it. This was my discovery pass which I have been using the last month and a half. You cannot get this refunded or printed out again. I think couple of the Mexican guys that were in the same station looked little bit dodgy picked it up. I don't know why someone would steal it because you need my ID to get on the bus and forget to work. So I had to pay $165 to get from Key West to New Orleans, money I really didn't need to spend. I am most likely going to have to pay from getting from New Orleans all the way up to Texas and then on to Vegas it is going to cost me an arm and a leg. The 24-hour bus trip was an absolute killer. There were kids crying the whole way, and when they weren't crying they were laughing just as loud because their mums were teasing them playing with them in the early hours of the morning. Literally no one was able to sleep and for some reason the bus driver just kept driving minding his own business and not telling this stupid bunch of women to shut up. An interesting character on the greyhound bus was this gangster looking man wearing a white wifebeater baggy jeans you know looking like an absolute G however he was wearing the stupidest little granny hat I have ever seen. If it was anybody else they would have got the pics taken out but this guy that looked like he might just have a good morning and whip it out if I looked twice and silly hat. I don't understand why you would go through all that effort to look like a gangster and then ruin it all by getting a Dorothy Perkins hat off the sale rack. Still, I would never tell him this. The loud noises went on throughout the night, throughout the day with only our iPods to listen to in order to keep was distracted. Also you would of thought because it was a long journey we would've got one of the good buses, the ones with extra legroom leather seats power points and a decent Aircon system. Of course not. We managed to get one of the oldest ones we have travelled on, no power points the aircon was freezing the whole way there and it was so cramped. Numerous people at the driver to turn the Aircon off or to turn the heating up but he just said no, you'll appreciate the cold now as it's going to be extremely hot in the day. This did not make sense as everyone was cold now. If I have a travel America and get all be getting my own car or flying everywhere I will never ever get the Greyhound again after this trip.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0675s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb