New Orleans. Hmmm, there’s a lot of debauchery to be found here


Advertisement
Published: June 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today I left Atlanta to go to New Orleans. The trip out was pretty smooth. There were couple stops for gas and one bad accident (I’m very pleased with my ability to herd through traffic; I was Barry Sanders and the traffic was an inept defense).

I arrived around 3:30. The hostel is not in the most desirable of locations. The neighborhood appears to be rebuilding after the hurricane. Some areas have nice, new little apartments while others have abandoned industrial buildings. While I have no intention of walking around outside late at night (this coming from someone who has roamed districts filmed on The Wire while completely inebriated) I am impressed with the hostel’s building. It’s actually in great shape. Had I ever actually watched The Real World, it might resemble one of their spots. There is an outdoor grill, patio and pool table.

I am residing in the top bunk. I am going to have to call upon the education I received in college in climbing to the top bunk while intoxicated. Yes, that is an admission that I may have partook in alcoholic beverages prior to the age of 21. Shocker.

The city looks to be a lot of fun. I was excited coming in and am more so now. I walked up Bourbon Street (the main drag in the French Quarter) earlier this evening and I saw many things to my liking. Dinner was at ACME Oyster House - Oysters Remoulade and a Shrimp and Oyster Po Boy. Tasty but too much fried food.

For dessert, I had a hand grenade from Funky Pirate (with a name like that how can I refuse?). As Gus described it, a hand grenade is a lot of alcohol and a splash of juice. Mmmm. That made the short drive back to the hostel fun. It will be cabs for me the rest of the time.

Tomorrow is more fun in New Orleans.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.448s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 62; dbt: 0.3964s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb