Another Day in New Orleans . . .


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Louisiana » New Orleans
January 29th 2009
Published: February 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Back in New Orleans. I’m still trying to get used to these short cruises! I find myself completely lost on what day of the week it is or how much time is actually passing when our cruise routine is 4 and 5 day cruises.

I didn’t have anything exciting planned for today. The timing of when I signed on the ship is so off with the pay cycle, I’m desperately awaiting pay day and until then am rather limited for what I can go out to do. But some of the camp girls were going around the French Quarter so I tagged along. We wandered around the old streets. It was Erica’s first time out in New Orleans, so we made a point of walking up and along Bourbon Street. The girls were hungry, so we found a little restaurant on Bourbon Street for lunch. I wasn’t going to get anything at first (gotta watch that money while waiting for pay day!), but then I decided I needed something to warm myself up. I know I keep mentioning how cold it is down here and that it’s nothing compared to the snow and ice back home. But, I’m also not
Pirates AlleyPirates AlleyPirates Alley

This reminded me so much of Rue de Tresor in Quebec City. I wish I had time for a historical tour here - I bet there's a great story at this spot.
packed and prepared for cold weather! And New Orleans is pretty darn cold right now. I had two long sleeved shirts and a big hoodie sweatshirt on but was absolutely chilled. So I treated myself to some seafood gumbo. Figured that by having a traditional southern dish I was also giving myself a bit of a cultural experience!

After lunch we stopped in a few shops. The girls wanted to look for dress clothes to wear in the evenings. Work is really cracking down on our dress code so they needed some more things. I’m on a mission to find a red dress (I’ve just decided I want one for formal nights) and I thought I might find one at one store. But I tried a bunch and none worked. Guess it’s worth the wait until pay day!

Back down by the waterfront, we stopped by Café du Monde. The girls wanted coffee and I again wanted some of those lovely beignets.

Right by the ship is a mall called the Riverwalk. In there is a fudge shop that is always giving free samples. So both from and to the ship, I always stop to take a sample. How can you not take some free fudge? On our way back, Erica and I went by there to get a sample of fudge just in time for a little show . . . This fudge shop is all about “Fudge and Fun”. And wow were they! They were making a fresh batch of chocolate fudge and while they made it, they were putting on a show. They were telling jokes, having the audience interact with them and even singing! Oh my goodness, it was so funny. We were laughing and laughing. I took photos and even videos! Erica and I kept looking at each other thinking “is this even happening?” But it was and it was so much fun.

I’ve only got one more day in New Orleans before my month on the Fantasy ends. Erica and I are planning an adventure involving the streetcars and the Garden District. It’ll be a good one . . .


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.209s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 10; qc: 26; dbt: 0.1729s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb