Checking out Progreso . . .


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Yucatán » Progreso
January 26th 2009
Published: February 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Now into a fourth contract and fifth ship, I’ve really covered the Caribbean and Central America. In fact, I’ve seen all but two of the ports Carnival does in this area: Montego Bay and Progreso (though I’ve done other ports in both Jamaica and Mexico). But for this month on the Fantasy, we are stopping once every week in Progreso. So far, I hadn’t been able to get out to see the port because I’ve had work or training. But not this week. To be honest, I had not heard positive things about Progreso. People say there’s nothing to do, it’s not interesting, why do we even go there, etc. But I needed to see for myself.

One of the girls from Camp Carnival (the kids program), Erica, also recently joined the Fantasy and is here for only a brief time. She said she’d come along with me to explore whatever there would be to explore in Progreso.

As it turns out, we had ourselves a lovely day!

The ship docks at the end of a five mile causeway. From there, shuttle buses take you to the mainland into the town of Progreso. We stepped off the shuttle bus and parked in front of us was a double decker bus offering half hour tours of the town for two dollars. Erica and I had been out late the night before at the disco, and the thought of being able to sit down and be driven around the town for two bucks sounded good to us! So we sat up on the top deck in the sunshine for our tour. Except the sunshine was a big facade. There was a downright cold wind coming in off the ocean and it was freezing! I took out my sarong and wrapped myself up in it like a blanket shivering. I know it’s not Canadian winter, but this is not the tropical weather I’ve come down south for! The city bus tour took us along the beach front, pointing out the restaurants and bars to head to later. Then we passed by some homes. For $1500 a month, you could rent a 5 bedroom, 3 storey beach front home. Last I had an apartment, we were paying more than that! Then we wove through the downtown streets past city hall, the catholic church and the primary and secondary schools. Saw a residential area and a few other landmarks, like the town’s lighthouse, and then we were dropped back where we started.

The shuttle bus meeting point is next to an outdoor market. I love markets everywhere, and Erica likes them too, so we spent some time just weaving from stall to stall checking out the items. I’m proud to say I resisted the temptations to spend money I haven’t been paid yet and just admired things instead.

After the market, we walked around the town a bit, popping in and out of shops. I bought a fresh mango from a street vendor. Still can’t get enough of mangoes! Then we walked down to the beach and along the water. I love walking with my feet in the water, so I did. But again, oh so cold! Ah, that’s why nobody was swimming! Eventually my feet kind of adjusted to the water, but let me say it took awhile to thaw out fully.

And that was it. We needed to head back to the ship to get ready for work. Erica and I kept saying that we didn’t understand why people knock this port so much. I mean, it’s not the most exciting or beautiful one of all of the ports. But it’s not as bad as it’s made out to be. The town has shops and restaurants and bars and internet - all of the things crew want. There’s a nice beach. We had a lovely day.

Also, Erica is awesome. We’re going to go on some more adventures before I leave here. I’m looking forward to it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.37s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 29; qc: 153; dbt: 0.2342s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb