Heading Home


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Orland Park
October 18th 2018
Published: October 23rd 2018
Edit Blog Post

Snowy RitaSnowy RitaSnowy Rita

At the Gateway Lodge, Land O' Lakes, WI.
When I awoke around 7 AM, there was an inch of snow on Rita and the temperature was 27 degrees. Although it didn't look like anything was sticking to the pavement, I didn't want to take the chance that I might encounter some ice on the highways. So I hung around the Gateway about as long as I could and decided to get on the road at 11:00 AM. The weather forecast for home was a high of 51, but the temps were going to drop to the high 20's at night so I didn't want to wait so long that I would run into those temps at the end of the ride.



So I knocked the snow off the bike, saddled up, checked out of the lodge and headed south on US 45. The road was not icy at all, just wet. With my penchant to ride as many two lane roads as I can, I knew I was adding quite a bit of time to the trip. When I drive to LandO, I can make it there in 6-6 1/2 hours. But I don't ride to get somewhere in a hurry, I'll take the truck for that. I picked a few highways to get just north of Madison, WI. There I got on the interstate to bypass Madison, Janesville, Beloit and Rockford, IL, a ride of about 70 miles. I stopped at US 30 and I-39 for gas and coffee and then took US 30 east and two lane roads all the way home.



I made it home around 9:00 PM, a trip of 10 hours during which the temperature never rose above 43. All in all it had been an excellent trip. The weather could have been better, but in any outdoor activity, you take your chances with that. I saw some beautiful scenery and visited with some old friends. I'll be back up there come December when the snow really flies. I rode 1,551 miles for the total trip. I'd do it again.

Advertisement



23rd October 2018

Great story
23rd October 2018

Great Story
Thanks Buddy.
24th October 2018

Home Sweet Home
You did it!!! Happy to hear that with all the rain, cold temps and snow, you still had a great time! Nothing beats the beautiful fall colors of changing leaves. Glad you're home!

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0631s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb