Rihla #14


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
January 8th 2012
Published: January 8th 2012
Edit Blog Post

1. Image 1: Two lights from the former site of the world trade centers shine for the 10th anniversary of 9/11

This image is important because it shows that we should always remember the events of 9/11. Also, we should take some time to reflect on 9/11.

Image 2: A protester gets sprayed in the face with pepper spray at the occupy Portland protest.

This image is important because it shows that people are being hurt for protesting. I think people should have the right to peacefully protest and should not be hurt in any way. When I came across this image, I felt upset that a protester was sprayed in the face just for speaking up.

Image 3: A man sits in front of a destroyed apartment building following the Joplin, Missouri tornado.

This image is important because it shows that tornados are destroying homes. Furthermore, people have no place to live in. I think that these people should get help from their state since it was out of their control to save their homes.

Image 4: Mihag Gedi Farah, a seven- month- old child, is held by his mother in a field hospital of the International Rescue Committee in the town of Dadaab, Kenya. The baby has since made a full recovery.

This image is important because it shows that some babies in other countries are less fortunate and do not receive the care they need. When I came across this image I felt sad that these children do not have access to the proper care. I am wondering what the International Rescue Committee does.

Image 5: A student is punched in the face by a police officer in Chile. Students in Chile are demanding a new framework for education

This image is important because it shows that students in Chile are not being heard. Instead, they are getting punched in the face. This image really made me feel upset because I feel that no police officer should have the right to hit someone in the face just for demanding a new framework for education. I want to know how the current framework for education is in Chile.

2. The image that best describes my year for 2011 is a closed fist holding a pencil. 2011 was a year full of struggles in school. I had to prepare for the biggest exam I was to take so far, the ACT. Also, I had to ensure that I was doing my best in all of my classes since colleges would be looking at the grades from that year. In addition, I was applying to colleges during this year.

3. Images/ photos can be a valuable resource for historians who are trying to understand the past because they can portray an important message. Also, they can clearly depict major events during that time period.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb