East Island to West Island


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu » Honolulu
June 27th 2009
Published: June 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Kailua BeachKailua BeachKailua Beach

crystal clear blue water and soft white sand
June 26-27
New day: no plans. Every few days I’ve woken up with the desire to branch out further from home to see some place new; today I decided to visit Kailua. It’s a small beach town, on the windward (east) side, probably only 30 minutes from here by car, but by bus, it’s over an hour. After over two weeks of feeling like a scrub, I chose today to straighten my hair, put on real clothes (and underwear, for those of you who read my last post), and cute sandals.

The bus has become a less fun experience for me lately. It’s getting a little old. Today, I caught the transfer to Kailua from downtown Honolulu in front of the courthouse. The bus takes the Pali Highway over the Ko’olau mountain range straight to the town of Kailua. You know, it really doesn’t matter which city you’re in; the general population that rides the bus (especially from in front of the courthouse) are kind of sketchy. I’m getting a little tired of people who stare too much or talk to themselves out loud.

Anyways, I made the mistake of arriving in Kailua without a plan. No plan for where to get off the bus, where to go when I got there, or even a map of the town. Luckily, it’s a smaller town, so it didn’t take too long to find my way to the downtown area where I was able to get a map and some info. I walked around and checked out the cute shops for a while, then walked down to get a look at the beach. I didn’t bring my swimsuit today since I had put so much effort into looking decent, so getting in the water was out of the question.

Kailua beach was gorgeous. Soft, white sand, crystal blue water, I can’t wait to get back to Kailua and Lanikai beach on Sunday. (that’s the tentative plan). For today, I just walked the beach for a while, walked up the hill to get a view of this famous Lanikai beach, and then walked back to town.

By 3 or so I was getting pretty hungry and had read about Kailua Pub & Grill back in town. It sounded like the perfect place to hit happy hour on a Friday. Happy hour had just begun to pick up and I
Kailua Beach Kailua Beach Kailua Beach

looking towards Lanikai
took the last seat at the bar squished in between two locals. Right away, the guy on my left struck up a conversation. It was great! We talked for two beers (though I don’t think I ever got his name), then when he left, another local took the seat and struck up another conversation. His name was Rod, he’s a woodshop teacher and builder in the summers, and he gave me his card; he “wants to be my friend here”. In fact, he wanted me to come to dinner with him and his friends, but that was a little too much. I took his card and told him that I may give him a call on Sunday if I was back out there. He has a 3 person kayak that he wants to take me out on. We’ll see…

Interestingly, the bartender had just returned from Phoenix the day before and we talked for a bit. She said her cousins were coming in from Phoenix in July and she’d give me a call when she takes them out to the “Sandbar” in Kaneohe; it’s a place I really want to see. Apparently, there’s a sandbar, a little ways offshore,
Kailua Canoe ClubKailua Canoe ClubKailua Canoe Club

canoes are a really popular pasttime here
that’s like an island of sand where people go hang out. It stretches 3 miles long and about 1 mile wide. When the tides are low, the Sandbar is exposed, revealing a beautiful sandy beach in the middle of the ocean. You’ve got to Google it…”sandbar Kaneohe” to see the pictures of people sitting in beach chairs in the middle of the ocean! It looks awesome!

It began to get late, and I had enjoyed my Kona Brewery Longboard brew so much, that I decided to catch a bus along the coast back towards home and get off in Hawaii Kai to try dinner at the Kona Brewery Restaurant. Unfortunately, I had missed happy hour by about 30 minutes. For the second time that night, I pulled up a seat at the bar, but this time, I ordered dinner. I was ready for a good meal, regardless of the cost. No one talked to me here, but it was a relaxing hour of live music, good food, and a free drink (vodka tonic courtesy of the bartender and someone’s mistake). Free drink? Sure I’ll take it.

My last bus ride home took about 30 minutes and by 9:30
My walking shoesMy walking shoesMy walking shoes

Not the most comfortable, but they sure are cute!
when I got home, I was exhausted. Before even finishing one page in my book, I was out.

Saturday morning I woke up late..7:45. Usually I don’t wake up that late, but the birds had slept in. Teeth brushed and running clothes on, I was out the door by 8:10 in time to catch the bus down to Niketown for today’s group run. I found my usual friends Terry and Sandy and was surprised when my roommate Mike showed up just before 9. I wished I knew he was coming, would’ve saved me $2.

Today I decided to get a long run in. It’s been a while since I’ve gone any distance and I’ve got the ½ marathon in San Diego that I need to be ready for in August. Today’s long run was 7.3 miles up and around Diamond Head. Somehow I did it, slower than expected, though the hills were rough. It was the longest run I’ve done since I got here. Glad to have it out of the way; though with the Hash run tonight, it may not have been the smartest day to do it.

Mike took me home via a short stop
Me & TerryMe & TerryMe & Terry

my running and hiking friend...and if you're wondering, the glove is in honor of Michael Jackson...don't ask
at the farmer’s market and I had about two and a half hours to relax before Terry picked me up for the Hash. This one I was excited about. My first Saturday Hash, lots of young people to meet, and it was a special one that included a trip inside the waterpark! But it was not to be…

Terry picked me up along with her husband Dave and their younger friend Eric, and we drove all the way to the west side of the island (near Ko’olina). I believe it was the town of Kapolei. Anyways, because of the inclusion of the waterpark, there were a lot of new people, kids, etc. Terry says this was nothing like the usual experience.

It didn’t go well from the start. They decided to start us an hour late at 4pm, knowing that the water park was only open to us from 5-6. The trails were already laid, and I mistakenly believed that they laid the trails with this in mind, so I expected an hour long trail. Um…Not quite. The trail splits off into “Turkey” which is shorter, easier and “Eagle” which is longer, harder; again not knowing that it
the view of the awful ravinethe view of the awful ravinethe view of the awful ravine

below, but hard to see is the ravine that we spent 2 hours in
would be that much longer today, I followed Terry to towards “Eagle”. I may have possibly chosen the Turkey trail had I brought my own flashlight, but I heard that it was for going into the sewers, or underground tunnels, and that’s really, really not my style. I think cockroaches breed down there.

Our trail began with at least 3 “bad trails” (deliberately made of course to make it oh so much more fun) then led underneath an overpass down into a ravine. Again, another place where I would never, never feel comfortable going on my own. I figured..okay, I can do this, we’ll be out of it soon….but no…the entire trail, over two miles, continued in that ravine! Am I the only one with weak ankles? People were cruising by me down there, and I was going as fast as I could. Literally every single step I took was on a rock. There were no flat surfaces and my weak ankles were rolling left and right. We were rock hopping, climbing over branches, trees, through grasses taller than me, around barbed wire, following little colored pieces of tape tied to the trees for over two miles!!! Sweat was
in the Virgin linein the Virgin linein the Virgin line

in the middle of the circle...about to be told to drink
dripping down my face, my ankles were aching, I kept up with Terry out of fear of being left behind in there alone, but I took a few painful falls. As we got closer to the end, we took at least 2 more “bad trails” out of the ravine, only to have to go back down and in it again. These people really think this is funny? Two hours later, Terry and I arrived at the door of the waterpark, only to be turned away as it closed. Seriously? The fast ones, and the ones who had taken the “Turkey” trail had all had time to get in, ride a few slides, and clean off. Terry and I, late arrivals, but still no where near the last ones, left there muddy, scratched, smelly, and grumpy as we all carpooled back to the starting location for the “circle” ceremony.

$5 buys you all the beer you can drink and lots of unhealthy snacks while they hold a “circle” ceremony. Again, I had to go up and drink for being a Hasher Virgin (this time to a Saturday Hash). More songs, beer, etc… I was exhausted. So much so, that I
Drink!Drink!Drink!

slamming our beers
couldn’t even rally to shower and get dressed at 8:30 to go meet up with my neighbor Heather’s friends who are here in town this week. Saturday night, my big opportunity to meet up with some fun people, and I’m dead tired. I really hope they go out again while they’re here!



Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Bored at the bus stopBored at the bus stop
Bored at the bus stop

waiting 45 minutes for the bus after dinner. I was bored.
view from H1view from H1
view from H1

of Waikiki...just a few blocks from home. on my way to the bus stop.
Beautiful red flowering treeBeautiful red flowering tree
Beautiful red flowering tree

not sure what the name is, but it was just so pretty
Lanikai obeliskLanikai obelisk
Lanikai obelisk

at the top of the hill
KapoleiKapolei
Kapolei

the view of the mountains before the "circle" at the hash
view towards Ko'olinaview towards Ko'olina
view towards Ko'olina

in the opposite direction


30th June 2009

Kailua Beach - That is exactly how I remember it, cool, soft white sand and blue water. We stopped there after going to Waimea Beach (get there, too!) which had blistering hot sand! We had trouble navigating in Kailua, but eventaully found the beach. I'd really like to explore it a little more. The Bus - Think about how fortunate and spoiled we are to have our own cars. Yeah, there are so weirdo's on the bus, but think about how you have lessened your impact o nthe environment and how much money you aren't spending on gas. Running - You are brave girl for doing those Hash runs! I'd be like, "No, Thanks!" So remember to get to Sunset Beach (and go to Ted's), Waimea Beach, and Haleiwa. I think you will be disappointed if you wait until the end of your trip to go. When are you coming home? You are coming home, right? I am waiting to take you to Chelsea's for sangria and to get the scoop on all details of your Hawaii trip! And if you are at all able to, go to Ola's for dinner at Turtle Bay. That is the best meal Jay and I have had in the past year. The setting is perfect. Did you see "Forgetting Sarach Marshall?" It is a little pricey, butworth every penny.

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0237s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb