The Day Michael Jackson Died


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu » Honolulu
June 25th 2009
Published: June 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

My dayMy dayMy day

Lying on the beach, not much more to do...
June 24-25
Famous celebrity deaths seem to occur when I'm away from home. I was in Switzerland when JFK Jr died, in Mexico when Princess Diana died, and here today..the day that Farrah & M.J. died. I know, it happens all the time, but these have been memorable ones for me. Not the subject of my blog today at all....but it seemed a fitting title anyways.

Not much…that’s what I’ve been up to. *Read a report today about the Most Expensive cities in the world. Only two U.S. cities made the top 15, I believe. Manhattan and Honolulu; it figures…trying to save $ and live cheaply this summer and I’m living in one of the most expensive cities in the world. That’s funny!

Yesterday I woke up at 3am; must’ve been the drinking. I just couldn’t sleep, so I finished my book. At five in the morning I went up to my computer and played around for a bit since I wasn’t sure what to do with my day.

I decided to walk over to Kahala beach, which was about a 3.5 mile walk. By now, I know the bus routes that would take me there too, but
KahalaKahalaKahala

some beautiful homes along the shoreline
what the heck…I have nothing better to do; might as well just take my time and see it all. Kahala is an area of beautiful homes, mansions really. It’s definitely where the money is at around here, which made the scenery enjoyable on the walk.

The beach is small and very desolate. Not small in length; it wraps around the coastline, but if you’re looking for privacy, there are very few people out here. The gigantic homes butt right up to the beach, which feels like you’re on someone’s property, but here in Hawaii all beaches are public.

I found an isolated spot and spread my towel. If the clouds wouldn’t have kept hiding the sun, I could’ve spent all day lying here in the breeze. But it was chilly, so after an hour I packed up my stuff and moved on. I walked further up the beach to Wai Ala’i Park, a great spot where there’s tons of kite surfers to watch, then found my way to Kahala Mall with a Subway stop on my mind.

Five miles on foot was plenty; I took the bus back home, then called it a day. Did some laundry,
Kahala BeachKahala BeachKahala Beach

not much sand in this area...it starts just around the corner, but the shore is shallow
finished watching Indiana Jones Raiders of the Lost Ark (seriously, it took five days to finally get through this one! I don’t think I’ll be up for the other two in the series that I found upstairs. Time to go back to the Redbox), then hung out with Bill for a half hour or so till he started falling asleep.

I had intentions to take the bus up to the North Shore today, but when I woke up at 10:45 that thought was out for the day. Instead I turned on the computer and saw the report that Michael Jackson had been rushed to the hospital. Try as I might, I couldn’t pull myself away. I must’ve watched live CNN reports for 4 hours! By two o’clock, I forced myself out of the house. If today was going to be a down day, it wouldn’t be spent at home.

I walk/ran a new neighborhood and ended up over at Ala Moana Shopping Mall. The largest outdoor shopping center in the world, apparently. It’s quite nice actually, and I’m glad I made it over there, though I wish I had my camera. I’m sure I’ll get there again to
KahalaKahalaKahala

I think this is the resort in Kahala
take a few pics. (Jen- I know you’ve never been here on your trips…I’d say, it’s an outdoor Fashion Square, very pretty, and if you’re in the mood to shop, it’s worth the trip.) Skip Kahala mall, it sucks; Ala Moana is amazing. It’s got it all: grocery store, post office, bars, restaurants, clothes shops, and an ocean view.

I ran the scenic route back home…about 3.5 miles. I love that I’ve been on my feet, but I’ve been running so slowly. Not sure what it is; I’m thinking it’s the lack of quality food I’ve been living on. I think I need more protein and nutrients…I’ll look into this soon.

I laugh that many friends and family comment that they’re living this through me….especially when I’m doing nothing at all like in the past 2 days. But with that in mind, I had some funny thoughts in mind today while I circled the city. I recognize most of the usual homeless on the streets in the neighborhood; in fact, I find myself looking for them and their overflowing shopping carts in their usual places each day. There are 4 regulars who I see on a daily basis
View from Kahala BeachView from Kahala BeachView from Kahala Beach

Koko Head & Koko Crater in the distance beyond the blue waters
between the beach and my house. Then there’s the blind man who sits in the small patch of grass between his house and the street and tends to the grass with, I believe, scissors and a bucket of water. There’s the guy with the snow hat and longsleeves, on his bike picking bottles out of the trash. And the teenager from the bus the other day who’s a street kid in the making; I’ve seen him 3 times since the bus ride back from Pearl Harbor. I believe he’s still looking for the talent that he can use to make money on the street at night. The guy dressed in newspaper, the silver guy, the basketball guy, most of the Waikiki street performers, all familiar faces to me now. Hey, someone asked for directions today, and I was able to give them. I’m well on my way to being a “local”.

And with all this time on my hands and in my mind, I’ve come up with a “Top 5” list of the things I’m most thankful I brought with me to Hawaii….they are:
1. Camelback Pack…the water pack/backpack that I wear almost every single day. It is by
Kahala Kahala Kahala

you can see how narrow and quiet the beach is
far the most useful item I brought.
2. Sheets: Well, maybe now that I know the bed isn’t so old, I’m not so worried, but I’m really glad I remembered to bring sheets with me.
3. Trail shoes: I love my hiking shoes and am so very glad that it’s not my running shoes that are getting torn up and muddy on these hikes.
4. Starbucks cards: such a perk of being a teacher...Starbucks gift cards...haven't paid for their coffee in years.
5. My ipod: Many long days of walking and running I have had the music on my ipod to keep me company. So glad it hasn’t been completely silent. *Steph...thanks so much for all the music and especially the brand new Dave Matthews CD!

And the top five things I could’ve left behind:
1. High heels: yes, I brought two pairs, and after two weeks I have yet to even slip anything on but athletic shoes and flip flops.
2. Nice clothes: same as the high heels.
3. Make up: Another thing that I have yet to do. Though I do hope that at least once here I’ll get a chance to wear make up and feel attractive.
4. Long sleeves: I don’t think people even own long sleeves or jeans here in Honolulu. Even though there’s some rain, it has yet to feel cold, or even chilly.
5. Underwear: gross…I know, but I think I’ve only worn them like once since I’ve been here. Lol.

Comments are few and far between nowadays. I guess I’ll just have to look for something cool to do and write about. Ha ha…I’m trying. Keep tuning in.


Advertisement



26th June 2009

Top 5 lists
It was 'High Fidelity', the book by Nicholas Hornby (and the movie) that made everything in life a top 5 list. It's a curious thing the way the mind works, how to evaluate everything in terms of importance rather than just to appreciate them for what they are. We see chaos and want to create order. I think when I am alone that my observation abilities are not distracted by conversations and I notice more of who and what is around me. So it is with you as you wander around Oahu. It's good that you have been able to make friends with a few strangers but it's also good to have some time by yourself to observe others. Sometimes it is better not to hear the sound of your own voice. I think celebrities die when you are home or traveling but when you are home, you are distracted so you probably do not pay close attention but when you are traveling, you seem to remember these things. I remember the hotel room I was in when I found out that John Lennon was shot and killed. Memories are very fickle things. I think if you were to move to Hawaii, you would have to reconcile yourself to dealing with bugs at a higher level. I have always tried to teach you that but I think I haven't done a good job. They are just bugs. I have killed 2 large scorpions this summer, and that takes dealing with bugs to a higher level.
26th June 2009

No High Heels!
Jen, I cannot believe what I am hearing you say, no high heels. I have never known you to wear anything other than those dreadful things, outside of your running shoes. I think that tells how cool and laid back Hawaii really is. My fried a Hawaii native, always brings weird things back from Hawaii for us to try and I was wondering if you have had the pleasure to try any of these said treats. She suggested that you try spam musubi you can get it at 7/11, li hi mui mango from Elans. She also recommends going to Molokai if you have not been already. It sounds like you are experiencing the local culture and having so much fun! Lacey
27th June 2009

Settling IN
Well you are finally sounded settled (to what ever degree that means) and that is a good thing. Reading your adventures and even you lack of adventures make me smile (even if they don't make me comment.) -- I want to know if you have blocked that facebook friend we discussed or at least blocked out of your mind? Speaking of blocking out of your mind -- I think you can do that with the bug deal. I bet your Dad was a better teacher than he thinks on that subject. I'm pretty sure you can do it. been a long week -- 50 more layoffs at work and Grandma Ruth (at the Mcdanilas) passed away. She would have been 100 in one month. So keep blogging and documenting all these adventures so you'll have grandma stories to tell for yourself one day. Hugs and love coming your way from us to you....miss you..........love you..........proud of you..............
27th June 2009

WOW!
Sorry i haven't been commenting :) I have been reading your blogs, I just havent had enough time to comment. SORRY! I'll try to do better :D I cant belive all your doing! Thats so cool! HEy laying on the beach is better than doing nothing! The new Harry Potter movie is coming out soon! Can't wait to see it! Your being so brave doing all these things :) I think you should take a day where you just stay at home and sleep. One day wasted wouldn't kill ya'! JK Keep busy! Hope you find some new stuff to do! ;D <3 Ellie
28th June 2009

Hello
Hi Jen! I just got back from Mission beach after being there for a week. It was so beautiful and relaxing! I just got caught up on all your blogs. I'm so glad you are having a wonderful time. We miss you!!
29th June 2009

Underwear
LMAO. I hardly ever wear undewear in Hawaii. I'm rarely not in a bathing suit - even to shop! That is so funny. I am glad you said something. And the heels, I couldn't agree more. But the make-up is another story. I am a bit high maintenance that way. Same with the blow dryer and flat iron. I don't feel good on any given day if I haven't showerd and put myself back together (kind of like Humpty Dumpty), even if I am going to get dirty. I would have commented earlier, but I didn't get an update for this post. I subscribe, so I will have to investigate. As for living through you, it is as much, if not more, about the environment, than what you do. I think this is also a journey of personal growth for you and that is inspiring, too! I say you get up to the North Shore, get some pie at Ted's and head over to Sunset Beach. I also think you need to check out Haleiwa. Today I wanted to get on a plane a nd come visit you! I feel like I need to test out the Moana Surfrider bed again. We have the same one, but I am not sure if it feels the same. Don't you think my investigation should warrant a trip? I think I have commented on very entry you have made. Keep it up!!!
8th July 2009

oh yeah...weird!
We were together in Switzerland for JFK jr...together in Mexico for Princess Di...and boy do I WISH I was with you in Hawaii the day MJ and Farrah died!! unfortunately i ended up at work 12 hours that day! : (

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb