My 1st Hash


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu » Honolulu
June 23rd 2009
Published: June 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

June 23
Strange is probably the best word to describe my day - in a good way. I absolutely loved today. I just wish I had pictures to match my stories. Unfortunately, for the part of today that I wish I had it, my camera was in the car.

Terri picked me up at 8am for our first hike together. I was excited; it was a hike I’d read about up in Makiki Heights off of Round Top Road. I believe this road becomes something called Tantalus. Whatever it is, the guide book says it’s “not to be missed” and I agree. The lookout on the top is even more spectacular than the one last week in St. Louis Heights.

Anyways, we hiked for probably three hours on three gorgeous trails in the Manoa Valley: Ualaaka Trail, Maleka Trail, and Manoa Cliff Trail. The landscape was constantly changing: jungle, banyon trees, pines, bamboo, rain, sun…it was just beautiful. The entire trail was almost always shaded by the tops of the trees, but it also ran along the ridges of the mountain with gigantic cliff drops alongside.

After hiking, Terri took me to breakfast over at Bogarts near Diamond
View from top of Makiki HeightsView from top of Makiki HeightsView from top of Makiki Heights

I believe this may be the view off of the road Tantalus? but not sure
Head. It’s a great local coffee and breakfast shop. It’s just the cutest little restaurant. The coffee is served in tall ceramic painted mugs; the kind you have at home, and the food is delicious. We each ordered a bagel with cream cheese, tomatoes, sprouts, and capers. Ah…so nice to have a bagel again!

Now, here’s where it gets funny. Terri invited me to my first Hash run tonight. I’ve been talking about it for a while...the Hash House Harriers. So she picked me up at 5 and we headed to Hawaii Kai (about 10 minutes away) to meet up with the rest of the group. Apparently Tuesday nights are a bit of an older and smaller crowd then Saturdays; I figured a good way to experience it for the first time. Not knowing what to expect, I wore my trail shoes. Good thing I did because in the first 5 minutes, I was running through the ocean along the shoreline and I believe some people’s backyards!

So here’s how it works: for each hash, there’s a “hare”: the person or people who lay the trail. They take off about 10 minutes before everyone else and they use flour or chalk or ribbon to mark the trail. Or they can lay the trail ahead of time (which in this case I believe they did). The rest of the group or “hashers” begin by setting off in the correct direction and just looking for and following the trail in whichever way that it may lead.

And so we did. First through the park in the direction of the freeway, then under the freeway, and along the shoreline. Unfortunately, the tide was up and we had to run through the water for a while because we were on a part of the shore where people’s houses & property went right up to the water. Next we were taken through neighborhoods, off onto a dirt trail that eventually led along Hanauma Bay. (This would be my second time seeing it, though I’ve yet to snorkel in it). All the while, you’re looking for markers and each time someone sees one, they loudly say “on-on”, cluing the rest of the group in that they’re “on trail”. From there, we crossed the Highway and ran up to the base of Koko Head stairs and off the path into overgrown weeds and grass
BogartsBogartsBogarts

the adorable little restaurant Terri took me to for breakfast
that I swear I would’ve never had the nerve to walk through had it not been for this. This led into a muddy deep ditch canal that we ran the bottom of until it led to a “beer check”. Interesting…a resting place where we were provided with a can of beer and snack break. Then back to the road where the trail continued, through neighborhoods, and eventually leading all the way back to where we began. Running after slamming a beer doesn’t feel so good though. I’d guess that the whole thing took about an hour and a half. Honestly, it was the strangest, yet most fun workout I’ve had…maybe ever?

And it didn’t end there. That’s when the partying began. Next it’s tradition to hold a “circle” where I, as a “virgin” (to Hashing) was given a beer to slam while the rest of the group sang a song. Now picture the group of 15 or so whose average age might just be 50 singing and swearing a song that ends in a fast “down.down.down.down.” while you chug. It’s such a funny experience. There were other songs, and other reasons for people to drink. But for the most
View from Makiki HeightsView from Makiki HeightsView from Makiki Heights

University of Hawaii and Diamond Head in the distance
part, the circle ends quickly and people hang out, socialize and drink beer. Needless to say, I hadn’t had much to eat since that bagel, and I got pretty tipsy!

I loved every minute of it! Can’t wait to do it again on Saturday. I hear that Saturday group regularly has 70 or so show up!

Our sober driver, Eric, dropped me off at home. I stumbled in, dirty as can be, shoes soaking wet, smile plastered on my face, and made quite a first impression, I’m sure, on roommate #1 Mike who had just returned from his vacation. Oh well…what can you do. We sat down and had some wine while we got to know each other. Actually, I remember doing almost all of the talking, nonstop, for about an hour. I was definitely more than tipsy. Another crazy day…more unforgettable experiences.

Mom…if I move here, will you still visit me?



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Tree on trailTree on trail
Tree on trail

I can't quite remember the name...is it a Banyon? or shower tree?
Hawaii KaiHawaii Kai
Hawaii Kai

just a quick scenery shot before the Hash run
Koko CraterKoko Crater
Koko Crater

That's one place we ran to...and around on our long run


24th June 2009

MOving
I will come visit. I promise. :-) MOre comments later, have to get Matt to an ortho appt.
24th June 2009

I had a little different experience...
This is the way life should be lived! i dont think that people really know how to enjoy themselves till at least 40 so it doesn't surprise me that the average age is 50. Slamming 2 beers though... i might have passed out from the depth perception problem, changes in elevation, high heart rate and nervousness. Still, it TOTALLY would have been worth it! Great blogs! I love living vicariously through my friends!
24th June 2009

You Are Amazing!
Jen, I am practically speechless! My brain can barely comprehend how one person can be having so much fun! My wish for you is that it continues! Sorry it's been a few days since my last comment/or phone conversation. There is just NOTHING to report. It's the same old stuff. I'm trying to brainstorm to figure out how to change things up a bit. So, let's get back to YOU! Specifically, your closing comment on this blog. Would I visit you if you moved there? What kind of question is that? You'd have to have a GUEST ROOM with my name on it! Who wouldn't love to have an excuse to spend time in Hawaii every year? All I want for you is for you to be happy. That's what we all want for you in case it's not obvious. When I read that, my eyes teared up and I had to walk away from the computer momentarily. (And because my shoulders are aching from too many hours of computer work today :-( ) Your summer is one you'll never forget, no matter what it leads you to do. I agree with Janeen. You are the most adventurous and courageous person I know. Right now it is you who is inspiring me. I love that you and Terri have become friends. How the heck does she do all that running? I'd like to think that I could keep up on the hikes you've done, but no way could I run the races! Do they accept fast walkers????????? I'm going to run out to do some errands now, so keep smiling. I'll call soon. I love you! mom
24th June 2009

Your Running Makes Me Tired!
Hi Jen!!! Sorry it's taken me so long to jump in, but I am soooo enjoying your escapades! First, the title of this blog really got my attention until I realized it was all just a bunch of (legal) fun. I liked your description of the cute little coffee mugs, but NO, I don't have any cute little painted ones like that at my house (all I have are martini glasses). Was it in this blog or maybe one of the others when you asked your mom if she would still come visit you if you moved to Hawaii? Uh, I'll answer for her with a big yes, yes and a YES....you are living your mommy's dream (and mine, and Aunt Vicki's and Val's, and, well, not Uncle Scott because he is against sand). The last time I was in Hawaii (the only time), I was pregnant with Bryan. I went all that way and didn't even get to see a volcano. It tickles my funny bone to see that picture of your empty table at the Starbucks under an umbrella, because it looks just like the umbrella we have here at our local Starbucks! Did you have to go all that way just for a choca-lacka-mucka-cherry-on-top caramel swirl mochachino Grande?!! Anyway, I am loving your photos, and descriptions and hearing the way you've been putting yourself out there! You must sleep well at night with all that walking and running. I have to laugh when I hear you mention it was only a "forty minute walk" to wherever...considering how much driving around a parking lot most people do, just to avoid walking 10 steps instead of 5!!!! (uh, that would be me). K, well, I think I'll put down "Twilight" and focus more on your blogs, so I can catch up with you. Love u, Ant Jill (the thought of roaches in your room made me think of ants, but oh, if I were only that small)
25th June 2009

Amazing
Hey Jen! Another great tale to read about, you certainly are keeping the rest of us entertained...the rest of us who are still stuck in our daily routines, going to work, feeding our families, etc. etc. etc....and as I read this, I wonder whether you really get how amazing it is what you are doing. We are all tuning in daily to see just what new and hopefully wonderful things you are doing and discovering. To get the pics are just an added bonus. And you look GREAT!! All that running certainly looks good on you! And what a fun group the Hash House Harriers are...you should start up a club back in AZ>>>>that is our course if you decide to head back!!!!! Love you......can't wait for the next entry!
25th June 2009

Holy shit
Ahhhhhh hahahahahahahahahahaha!!! That is so freaking hilarious I almost died trying to control my laughter while in a public library (my poor summer ways of finding internet.) That's all I could possibly say about that, you're the shit.
26th June 2009

Strange
Jen, I can honestly say that is the strangest thing that i have ever heard! But it sounds like it was great time! I would do anything that involved exercise and beer. This is a tradition that you should bring back here. Sounds like everything is going well. Lacey
27th June 2009

If you move there
EVEYR ONE will VISIT YOU!

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0202s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb