2 Weeks on Island


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu » Honolulu
June 22nd 2009
Published: June 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Me before the 10KMe before the 10KMe before the 10K

I look too happy to be about to run a 6 miler don't I?
June 21-22
The alarm on my phone buzzed under my pillow, but I was so tired it just became part of my dream. Till I realized there was a reason it was going off. (I haven’t set an alarm since I arrived here.) It was 5:45am and I had to get down to Kapiolani Park about a mile away to register for the 7am 10K - Aloha State Games. Hmmm…did I even want to do it? Not really anymore, but what the heck. It would be over in an hour and then I would take the rest of the day to relax. So I changed, put my new Hawaiian flower in my hair (trying to assimilate into my new life), and walked to the park.

Again, it was another smallish road race. Just six miles…shouldn’t be too difficult right? Wrong. My body was just too exhausted. The course wrapped around the east side of Diamond Head, the path along the ocean that I had run my second day here. Very hilly, in fact at least half of the run was uphill. I tried the best that I could, but wasn’t too happy with my overall run. Oh well. I finished.
Me & Bill at dinnerMe & Bill at dinnerMe & Bill at dinner

at House Without a Key


Afterwards, I picked up my t-shirt, walked through the small art fair that had begun to set up along the beach, and started making my way towards Starbucks to reward myself with a morning coffee. But when I reached into the pocket of my running shorts, the card was gone. Darn. I hate losing stuff. I lost my drivers license on the plane somewhere between Seattle and Honolulu, and now I had lost my Starbucks card. Luckily, I had registered it online in order to get wireless access, so when it’s reported missing, they’ll just freeze the account and send a replacement card to you in the mail. Good ol’ Starbucks.

I settled for gas station coffee that I had to pay for and walked back home. With all the walking and the run I had at least 8 miles in by 8:30 in the morning. Good, now I could spend the day relaxing on the beach.

Bill and I made plans to go to the beach in the afternoon and headed down around 2. He chose a beach far down to the east(?) where it’s a little less touristy. It was a nice spot, good sun,
Live EntertainmentLive EntertainmentLive Entertainment

at House Without a Key
calm water, and lots of talk; in all a great, relaxing day.

Both starving, we decided to walk down to the Halekulani restaurant House Without a Key. It had been strongly recommended for sunset views and drinks and neither of us had been there before, so we went. I kind of wished that we chose another night when I got my first glimpse of the resort. This place was high class, gorgeous, and had a “resort attire” dress code. Well at least the signs said they did, but they didn’t enforce it. It was the type of place that I wished I had showered, put on a nice dress, heels, and makeup for, especially since I have yet to do that here. It was the best opportunity I had yet, but it was not to be. I looked like a bum; sun drenched face, frizzy beach hair, a swim suit and sun dress…not exactly the look I wanted in such a beautiful place.

But we were seated at a table outside with live music, entertainment and beautiful ocean sunset views. Picture romance, honeymooners, families dressed up in formal wear, then Jen & Bill, beach clothes, towels, flip flops
HalekulaniHalekulaniHalekulani

not sure what this room is...just very pretty
& sunburns.

They served bread & we ordered a Pina Colada (me) and a Chocolate Martini (him). For dinner Bill ordered the Catch of the Day and I ordered the Ahi Pasta. Again, Jen this description is all for you... Tha ahi pasta was rigatoni pasta, pesto cream, marinated tomato, and Ahi. To be honest, it was delicious I think the pesto sauce with tomatos, onion, and capers, and definitely more appealing than the Catch of the day: Ahi, vegetables & rice. I was super happy with my meal. As long as I didn’t think about the price.

We made the most of our time there on the patio. The music was beautiful as were the views. We even took a few pics near the water. If I were to go again, I’d probably skip the food though and just do drinks. There are so many restaurants nearby that are much more affordable. But the experience was a great one.

After dinner, we took our time walking back through Waikiki on the way home. We stopped at a Peter Lik gallery and I was in awe. His photographs are the most incredible pictures I’ve ever seen.
Sunrise Pre-raceSunrise Pre-raceSunrise Pre-race

Kapiolani Park

Eventually we made it home. It was so much fun having a roommate and friend to hang out with all day. I even showed him my blog; kinda funny and embarrassing that he was reading the stuff I had not only written about the house, but him as well. No big deal.

Monday morning…not so good. Cockroach - on its back - next to the refrigerator. Great, now I'm not going to be able to eat. Feeling tired, and happy to spend the day home reading and relaxing, especially since it’s been overcast all day. I stayed silent about the roach, and when Tiffany woke up she must've taken care of it. The only downside: I ate ½ of my gallon of ice cream that was in the upstairs freezer. That’s always my problem; if I buy it, I always eat it way too fast!

Old roommate Tara came by today and took $40 for the twin bed. I wish I didn't have to, but what are you gonna do? She suggested I sell it on craigslist before I leave and try to recover the money. According to her it's brand new, used only about 2 months (that
Me on the way to dinnerMe on the way to dinnerMe on the way to dinner

Can you believe I went to a nice dinner looking like this?
calms some of my fears about bed bugs), so maybe I'll give it a shot.

Big plans for the day... 4:30 yoga. One last time with Dorian. He is so hard! But it is my last day of yoga before the week pass expires, so I just had to do it. This time I wasn't the only student; there were three of us, but the class was no easier. Walked back up the hill towards home very, very slowly today. It's 6:45 and I think this may just be the end of my day. I think I'll try to finish my book and relax...upstairs.



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Post racePost race
Post race

finish line
random picrandom pic
random pic

too lazy to look up the name of this center
The HalekulaniThe Halekulani
The Halekulani

What a spectacular hotel!
Bird on our tableBird on our table
Bird on our table

It's so used to being fed, he's trying to take the bread off of my plate


23rd June 2009

Bird on Table...
This is why I cannot eat at Duke's even though I covet their fish tacos. I don't like birds. Birds are very, very dirty animals. Nevertheless, I am glad you enjoyed House Without a Key. That room that you thought was pretty, but weren't sure what it was for - another potential wedding reception location. Always thinking. Congrats on your completed run. I can't run, even after my "surgery." I admire people who run; I have always wanted to! You and Bill look fine. I don't think we saw people dressed up very often.
24th June 2009

I am so jealous
What a whirl wind 2 weeks...........how exciting and how fun. you look GREAT and are making the memories of a life time. keep on sharing them.
24th June 2009

Looks like you are having a great time Jen! I am home now and only now had time to really look through your blog. I think it is really cool that you write about your experiences. It is interesting to read and the pictures look good. I am especially impressed by all of the running that you are doing. I would run as well, but i have plantar fascitis in my feet. Have I ever told you about that? : ) Anyway, enjoy the trip. Keep posting. take care.

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0238s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb