What a Day!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu » Honolulu
June 20th 2009
Published: June 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Me & Misty May-TreanorMe & Misty May-TreanorMe & Misty May-Treanor

Can you believe it? How cool is this?
June 20
What a day! I’m so excited to write about it. I’m putting my favorite picture first…Me and Misty May-Treanor….read on to hear all about it!

I woke up early enough to walk down to the farmers market at Kapiolani Community College. It’s about a mile up the road at the base of Diamond Head. Anyways, I had heard that you’ve got to get there early, and since the hours are from 7:30-11:00, I figured getting there at 7:30 is early enough; maybe not. Cars lined up waiting to find a parking space, and people were everywhere. Imagine the crowd mid Saturday at the Scottsdale Culinary Festival; that is exactly what it was like at 7:30am. I hear that Hawaiians are early risers, and from what I’ve seen, they really are.

The market was cool, but not nearly as cheap as I thought it would be. There’s tons of fruit, vegetables, baked goods, coffee, shave ice, and food. For the most part, it seemed like most people show up to eat. Pizza, rice, Asian food, corn on the cob….all at 7:30am! I was starving. I had run out of food last night, was too tired to walk down
Farmers MarketFarmers MarketFarmers Market

when they say get there early, they're not kidding.
the street to eat, and when I got up this morning, I forgot to grab a cliff bar before I left. Not too smart, considering I was catching the 8:20 bus down to Niketown for the Saturday morning run.

When I got there, I ran into my new running friend Terri. I think I mentioned her last week. She’s in her 60’s, super nice, more active than I am, and eager to do some hiking together. Today’s run was a 5 and a half miler, and we ran together. Again, it was a hot, hot morning and because of my poor eating I was really lacking energy. I made it over 4 miles, running along the coastline at Ala Moana Beach Park. I think I may have seen a dead body while running by. The police were out, it was roped off, there was media, and something near the water was covered with a yellow tarp. Saturday morning, 9:30 am, hundreds of people setting up for the day’s picnics and gathering in the park, and a dead person near the water. Pretty sad. Terri was saying that sometimes there are problem with the homeless out on the beaches. There
View of Manoa View of Manoa View of Manoa

from Terri's balcony
really are a ton of homeless people here. But why not? The weather is beautiful year round. If I were homeless, I’d want to live on the beach in Hawaii too.

Shortly after the 4th mile, I couldn’t do it anymore, so she and I turned and walk/jogged our way back to Niketown. I needed food and lucky for me, they supply a small plate of treats after each run.

From there, I was close enough to Walmart, that I decided to get some shopping out of the way. Terri needed to get stuff there too, so we walked together. We stopped at her place just down the street and I snapped some beautiful pictures off of the balcony. She lives in a high rise condo building in a great location in Waikiki with a fantastic view.

Stops at Walmart, Subway, and Don Quixote (an asian grocery store much like Walmart) took up the next 2 hours, and by the end of it all, I was aching to get home and rest. And it was only 12:00!

Then I learned of a 5K fun run happening just down the street at the University of Hawaii. I
Me & the MayorMe & the MayorMe & the Mayor

Honolulu mayor Mufi Hanneman
wasn’t thrilled at the prospect of more running, but I couldn’t miss this one. It was a small, local free 5K that was put on to promote Chicago’s bid for the 2016 Olympics. And the special guest: Misty May-Treanor! You know, the 2 time U.S. Beach Volleyball Gold Medalist! I was so excited to see her, maybe even take a picture with her. She was also going to participate in the 5K. So, I had to do it.

I walked over to the college around 3:30 (the run wasn’t starting till 5:30), signed up, and hung out in Les Murakami Stadium until the run began. To be honest, it was much smaller than I expected, only a few hundred people. I ran pretty slow, but finished ahead of Misty. Afterwards, I approached her and asked if I could get a picture with her. I seriously can’t believe how brave I’m getting! She was so cool! We took a picture and even sat and talked for a few minutes. Would you believe that she’s interested in pick up games down at the beach, but hasn’t had much luck finding them? I’d love to have an opportunity to play a pick
Hawaii StadiumHawaii StadiumHawaii Stadium

football field directly behind the baseball stadium
up game with an Olympic Gold Medalist! She’ll be down at the beach again tomorrow. Maybe I’ll get a chance? Oh…and check out the pictures. I even took a picture with the Mayor Mufi Hanneman. What a day!

So…I walked back home totally exhausted and aware that I had made plans to go down to Pipeline where Greg was DJ’ing tonight. He said he put my name on the list to get in. It’s only 20 minutes away by bus, not too bad. It was 8pm and I couldn’t even gather enough energy to shower and get ready. Sorry Aunt Val, I really wanted to go, but I cancelled. I do hope that I’ll get another chance to see him work. I know Greg’s got a big thing here in July. I’ll plan on making that one.

Instead, I stayed in and watched Dark Night with roommate Bill. I’d never seen the movie, and I loved it. Yes, it’s definitely getting more comfortable in the house and we even made plans to go to the beach together tomorrow! I’m just shy of 2 weeks in Honolulu and things are beginning to feel right. Midnight…finally time to sleep. Only
Farmers MarketFarmers MarketFarmers Market

Kapiolani Community College 7:30 am!
five hours though; I’ve got a 10K at 6 in the morning - The Aloha State Games road race. After that, I’m going to give my body a much needed rest!



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

View of WaikikiView of Waikiki
View of Waikiki

and the Ala Wai canal from Terri's balcony
View of WaikikiView of Waikiki
View of Waikiki

from Terri's balcony
5K finish line5K finish line
5K finish line

Misty finishing just after me.
the finish linethe finish line
the finish line

on the field at Les Murakami stadium


21st June 2009

that would be cool
to be able to say that you blocked Misty...not many people can say that. I suspect that her play is at a whole 'nuther level. The picture is a keeper though.
21st June 2009

yay!
yay i'm so happy for you Jen! sounds like you are really starting to feel comfortable with your surroundings... and how could you not, you're surrounded by beautiful beaches and warm weather! if you decide to stay a LITTLE longer, dan and I do plan on getting back there for our anniversary... Nov. 3! ha ha. well i think thats so cool you got to meet Misty... she had knee surgery not long ago--after she got injured on Dancing With the Stars... so thats great she's up and around again. does she live there? anyway so happy to hear all your good news and love that you are stying so active and doing so many things and meeting people, etc....... like i've said before, you are the most adventurous person i know and i totally admire you for it!
23rd June 2009

wow..
Awesome pictures.. I can't believe how much you are running...I am exhausted just reading about your runs. Miss you..hope you are now starting to feel comfortable and having a great time..

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0259s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb