She Swims With Turtles


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu » Honolulu
June 29th 2009
Published: June 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

June 28-29
The blog site has been temperamental, to say the least. I’ve been trying to update for 2 days, but it was just now that it finally published. And so much has happened since my last entry!

I’ve really had a great two days. It began early, early Sunday morning when I again woke up at 3am. Drinking…hash…can’t sleep…seeing the pattern? Anyways, I ventured upstairs (it’s where my computer is plugged into the modem) and came upon my roommate Mike sitting at his computer in the dining room. Head up, hand on mouse, totally asleep. It was hilarious! Definitely sleeping; the screen had even gone to sleep. I thought about taking a picture, but I don’t know him that well. So…I went back down to my room and laid in bed until I heard his heavy footsteps finally walking to his room thirty minutes later.

My roommate Tiffany and her friend invited me to go with them to Lanikai today which was super exciting! It’s ranked as one of the world’s top 10 beaches, and I agree. The water was breathtaking crystal blue, the skies clear, sand soft, and we spent about 3 hours lying out, looking out at one of the most beautiful views in the world. I can’t complain.

Afterwards we got lunch at Aloha Salads in downtown Kailua and walked around the little shops for a while. It’s safe to say that this will not be my last time in Lanikai. I’m already planning my next trip over there for a day of hiking, beach time, and a little breakfast restaurant called Boots and Kimo’s. My first day in Kailua I noticed a LOT of people waiting outside the restaurant, so I looked into it. Evidently, their Macadamia nut pancakes are to die for, and they’re so busy that they actually take your order while you wait outside, then you’re served your food when you’re seated. Anyone been here before?

Concerned that I may not have anything to do the following morning, I texted Greg’s friend Don (the one who took me surfing my first week here) to see what he was up to. He offered to take me out snorkeling at 8am. Awesome! Bill and I watched Elf (my pick; I’d never seen it before…dumb movie) during which we both fell asleep…and that was the end of my day.

Sunday morning
Lanikai BeachLanikai BeachLanikai Beach

looking in the direction of Kanaohe
I woke up, packed my gear and headed down to the beach to meet up with Don. I like Don; he doesn’t talk much, or tell me much about what we’re about to do, or wait for me in the water, but what the heck….he takes me out on these great experiences for free!

We grabbed two long boards, stand up paddles, and our snorkel gear and headed out into the water. I had no idea where we were going and he moves at ten times the speed that I do, so I planted my butt on the board and quickly paddled behind. I’m not quite good enough to stand and paddle much, especially when the waves are coming in; and to be honest, it’s so shaky and unsteady when standing up. It must take a while to get used to.

We paddled out past the surfers to where the crystal clear blue water turns a dark shade of navy. Something about it feels almost scary, to be in deep ocean water, far from the shore, out where the boats are, with just a surfboard for protection…I don’t know. Maybe it was that it was early, and the
Crab on beachCrab on beachCrab on beach

Look at this thing...it's huge!
view of the Waikiki skyline from the water was so picturesque, everything quiet, but everything about it was magical.

I pulled on my snorkel gear and slipped into the cool water. With one glance down below the surface, I lost control of my breathing. Fear overcame me. The water below was clear and I could see all the way down, down to the bottom of the ocean. It was far down. It took a while, with my hands gripping the surfboard and face in the water, for me to finally get my breathing under control. Soon, I was swimming with the school of giant fish, though not too far from my board. Don was looking for turtles; we swam together in the direction that he had spotted one, but once we got about 20 feet from our boards, I panicked and my breathing became difficult again. So, I lay on the board and he stood and paddled us around until he spotted one. Assured that, no, turtles do not bite, I slid back down off the surfboard into the water and was shocked to see a giant sea turtle swimming under me. It was beautiful, graceful, incredible.

Then there were two and three turtles. They were all around us. My heart was beating fast, my breath irregular, but it was just so incredible. The turtles were as big as me, and one swam right up near us. I was so scared, I had to climb onto my board and just put my face into the water. But it didn’t do anything; just came to the surface to take in some air for a few minutes. Really it was…a few minutes. I just lay there, on my board, watching giant sea turtles surface around me. Amazing! You know, thinking back to it. It was just a surreal experience; the way it felt…I was out in the ocean, in their world, experiencing what it felt like to be part of their life. Don texted tonight to see if I felt like this morning was a dream. He described it as “the turtles were like birds flying in a sky of blue”. I say…Magical.

Don caught some waves on his board while I lay on mine soaking up the sun. I also spent quite a while practicing the stand up and paddle method. Eventually as it always does, the nausea caught up to me and I began wishing I was anywhere but in the water. It took a while to paddle back to shore, but we did, and by 10:30 I was off on my own again.

I texted my roommate Bill, who is experiencing some frustrations with his job and is using up his sick leave this week, and we decided to meet up for breakfast. I picked an inexpensive restaurant in Waikiki called Keoni by Keo where breakfast was cheap and I could finally get pancakes with coconut syrup. Yummy! It’s like desert for breakfast.

Next, we went grocery shopping. Having a friend makes even grocery shopping fun! We decided to cook a little this week so I even bought turkey burgers and corn on the cob. Mmm..my meals are definitely looking up. But overall, I’d say this week I’ve really been eating well. I haven’t been money conscious that’s for sure; maybe because I’m almost halfway through summer, or because I have yet to look at my credit card bill…ha ha.

Not wanting the fun to end, we headed out to see The Hangover at a midafternoon showing. What a funny movie! Thanks for the recommendation everyone. I had tears from laughing so hard during the credits. Wish I had remembered to take a few pictures today. I was even wearing a cute dress and makeup again.

As the night comes to an end, I’m sitting down with my roommate Tiffany to watch He’s Just Not That Into You; another movie I haven’t seen yet. Bill went to play poker with his guy friends. I wish I could go play poker with the guys. Even though they say I ruin guys night, they always let me play at home. Ha ha.

So…today marks the end of my third week here. I joked about it before, but today I feel it more sentimentally; I am falling in love with living here. Okay, yeah, I love not having to work. That’s a problem. But truly, I love the way of life here. It’s slow, peaceful, happy, friendly, active…It’s just - paradise. Well for the most part. (minus the homeless people…people would never be homeless in paradise….and the cockroaches…they don’t belong in paradise either) Hey, I’m not moving here yet. I’ve got a wonderful job to go back to in August, which I’m super excited about. But….I wonder….is this where I ultimately belong?



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

A crabA crab
A crab

eeeew!
view of Kaiwa Ridgeview of Kaiwa Ridge
view of Kaiwa Ridge

I'm looking forward to going back to do this Pillbox hike over Lanikai
Pali LookoutPali Lookout
Pali Lookout

view of Kailua
Pali LookoutPali Lookout
Pali Lookout

overcast and windy as can be


30th June 2009

Keoni by Keo - We finally ate ther this last trip. On our previous trip, we went there for dinner, were seated, and I wasn't feeling the menu. We ate there on our last night in Oahu. It was really good and reasonbaly priced. The Aqua Bamboo is just a few steps away from there. Love the tiitle - She Swims with Turtles. And maybe, ultimatley, you belong there. We have been discussing a move to CA in the future. Why not? Life is too short. Having said that, I do love AZ, but I think I lvoe the ocean more!
30th June 2009

snorkeling...
Ah! I'm glad to hear that you got over nerves enough to do some snorkeling and do some amazing things. My friend Courtney has mentioned taking me snorkeling a couple of times now- we haven't made any definite plans yet. The idea of it sounds more intriguing to me than actually doing it; I know that I will probably react the same as you did. Not sure when the ocean started freaking me out as much as it does now....? Glad to hear that it was wonderful though!
1st July 2009

Wow!
Jen, I can't believe how wonderful it all sounds!! I would think that laying on a surfboard in the ocean would scare me more than the giant sea turtles though! You make Hawaii sound like the best dream ever, and I can see why you are going to be sad to go. I tell everyone what you are up to, and now all of my friends are immerssed in your stories. I am very happy that you are eating better meals, I think that will keep you feeling well. Your descriptions of the food always crack me up!! You are a great writer, but I think you made need some entertaining adjectives to describe the food! I keep missing you on facebook, but would love to chat again soon. I can tell you all about my new job. My phone time usually consists of when I am driving to and from work, so I will try you on my way home as I don't think you would appreciate a super early phone call.
1st July 2009

OMG The Pictures are Gorgeous!
Okay, so do I need to send you a life vest? Please be careful out there! If you meet a riptide, swim parallel to the shore to save your energy.... isn't that the rule? You are so brave. Just be smart. Amazing to swim among such grand creatures. I loved the way you put it when you said you were a part of their world. Three weeks into this adventure and you've found comfort, friends and probably even a side of yourself that only "quiet time" allows you to see more clearly. What is obvious to me in your writing is that you seem to be connecting to your environment. It's a beautiful place to be. An opportunity of a lifetime! How do the TV commercials put it? "Priceless" Hawaii seems to be pulling at your heartstrings. I for one was glad to hear that you are still looking forward to the changes that await you when you come home; new school, new grade to teach, new people to meet......All is good right now for you and that warms my heart. I love you and miss you. MOM
2nd July 2009

Web Camera
I am so excited I saw you on lthe live web camera!! So cool! Have your family and friends save the link and call them when you are there. Going to go sleep in my Heavenly Bed adn dream about being there. Thanks for checking out that store for me and getting me the info!

Tot: 0.178s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1291s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb