New hike, new sights, new roommate, new opportunities…


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu » Honolulu
June 16th 2009
Published: June 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

June 16
The birds chirping outside of my window wake me each morning. They make the strangest calls, mimicking each other back and forth, so by 7:30am I’m usually awake. I woke up excited to hike. I showered, packed, got dressed, and waited….nothing. Around 9am I texted Greg to see if we were still on, and at 10 he called to tell me that he’d have to go in the afternoon. Bummer..

With nothing else planned I decided to go on my own hike. The buses around here are plentiful and I found a route that runs not far from my house up to the top of nearby St. Louis Heights. Wow! The view on the road up the Heights was incredible. It felt a lot like driving the small roads up Camelback Mountain and getting the great views of the city. Only this view is so much prettier! I could see clear down to the crystal blue ocean water from Diamond Head to the Honolulu Airport. Even without the hike these views are worth just taking the bus to the top and back down.

Wa’ahila Ridge is the name of the trail. Had I bothered to think about it, I would’ve noticed “ridge” and it could’ve clued me into the type of hike it would be. It certainly wasn’t an easy hike, but it sure was pretty. It was a ridge line trail that went deep into the Manoa Hills. Each lookout point was more spectacular than the last. For the most part, the trail went up and down, up and down, ridge to ridge. I was out of breath for sure. But it was so pretty, and peaceful. For almost an hour, I didn’t see or hear anyone. Most of the trail was in the forest and the wind was blowing which made it even better. About an hour in, I found a perfect spot for pictures and decided to turn back. I knew that the trail went 2.4 miles in, but I didn’t feel like spending too long on the hike with another one later in the day.

Lucky for me, the bus driver had given me two transfer passes (one free bus ride) which sparked a new idea. Why not just ride the bus to a new area? The one that I was about to catch just happened to go all the way to Kahala Mall; and I love malls. Coincidentally, it was the same bus driver on the way down and he gave me another transfer pass that expired even later. (Nice, another free ride).

I rode the bus all the way to the mall and got off. Unfortunately, I was still in my hiking clothes and was covered in dirt from the knees down. Truthfully, when I first sat down on the bus I could smell myself; it was pretty sick. Shopping isn’t so fun when you can’t try on clothes. I walked the mall, and it was nothing too good. Although the Kahala area and beach looked gorgeous. So I found a new bus to hop on. It took me to the downtown area of Kaimuki, near where I live, and dropped me right at the door of Goodwill. Cool! I looked the part, and smelled the part. Why not? Just kidding.

I did find a great Bebe yoga top in Goodwill and I bought a new book. Not that I needed one, but I’m more in the mood for an easy read right now, so I bought Water for Elephants. I’m already 100pages in and am enjoying it.
Wa'ahila TrailWa'ahila TrailWa'ahila Trail

The entrance at the top of the St. Louis Heights neighborhood
If any of you have read it, let me know. Atlas Shrugged will just have to wait. From there I caught the bus that runs to the end of my street. How convenient these things are. And all for $2. What a bargain!

Back home mid afternoon, I read a bit and checked blog comments. I’m definitely an addict. I continued reading into the evening when I heard movement at the basement door. Could it be? Yes….roommate #5 Tiffany came home! I was so excited to finally meet the girl who was living downstairs with me. We talked for a while and I have a great feeling about it. I think I may finally have someone to hang out with!

Greg called tonight to apologize for not having the time today to get a hike in. He had a super busy day, but hopefully we’ll find time to fit another hike in soon. Even more exciting…he invited me to come to his gig on Saturday night; either show up and get a drink or he said he’d put me to work. How cool! I’m gonna check out the club online, but why not? Thinking I may take the
Chickens & babiesChickens & babiesChickens & babies

There were a lot of them in the park
work option and meet new people. Every day a new experience…I love that I never know what’s in store tomorrow.

*Random thought today: one way that I’ve really grown since I’ve been here…doing things alone. I experimented with it a little last summer, but this time I haven’t even given it a second thought. Wow. It just occurred to me as I thought about going tomorrow to touristy Hanauma Bay or even Pearl Harbor…eating alone, walking around alone…it just sounds…fun.



Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

View up trailView up trail
View up trail

It just kept going deeper and deeper into the hills
View of all HonoluluView of all Honolulu
View of all Honolulu

It just kept getting better and better the higher I went
Me on top of ridgeMe on top of ridge
Me on top of ridge

this is as far as I went on the trail.


17th June 2009

Speechless!
OMG Jen, you are so lucky to be doing what you are doing! It does sound like you are adjusting to the adventure with each day bringing new surprises. I am in "crunch mode" at the moment. Have to see the CPA at 1:00 and being the procrasinator you know me to be, I have much work to do before leaving the house. I'll write more later but you have put a smile on my face this morning. BTW, you look great!!!!!!!! I love you! :-) Mom
17th June 2009

Hikes!
That trail looks so awesome!! I bet mom had a silent heart attack after reading about you hiking alone through that forest and not seeing anyone else up there.
17th June 2009

I wake up this morning around six debating whether to go to the gym today. I decide that this will be my day to skip, but then I go open your blog and see that you have been hiking. I was inspired. Really, what else was am I going to do all day until yoga tonight?? Thanks, Jen! So I am beginning to wonder if you will want to come home??? It really sounds like you are having a great time and are becoming more comfortable just being with yourself. That is awesome! I think that after this experience you will find that this can transfer over in to your everyday life back here in the desert. I often prefer doing things alone, as much as I love being around people. Doing things alone provides a bit more clarity. Absolutely love the pictures of the hike, I am wondering if this area is on the way to Valley of the Temples (where that cool temple is) because the view looks so familiar. Good to know the Kahala Mall isn't all that so I won't waste my time. What about the Ala Moana Center? I have skipped that on both of my trips there, but it sounds pretty nice. Enjoy your day...soak up that glorious tropical sun!
18th June 2009

Although I had heard many good things about Water for Elephants - it did not impress me. Good Luck. I am really liking The Pillars of the Earth, so it would be good for the summer (800 pages). I say have a drink first and see if you want to work with the staff, it can be like a two way interview.
18th June 2009

Bus it up!
Glad to see you listened about using the bus. Like I said you can travel that whole island on a dollar if you wanted. So don't be afraid to head up north and see what's up there. It's the locals side..so much different that the tourist side. Plus Jack Johnson lives up North so that's all the reason to go. :)
19th June 2009

Way to go!
I am so proud of you that you are doing things on your own and enjoying it! This is something that is really difficult but you are a very strong person and will continue to succeed on your journey. I however am stuck here finishing my final graduate project going stir crazy. Are you planning on going to any of the other islands? Kawaii is amazing and I am sure there are many other places that will provide you with some more adventure. Have fun at pearl harbor and I cannot wait to see what you are up to next. Lacey

Tot: 0.198s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 8; qc: 55; dbt: 0.1374s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb