Pearl Harbor


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu » Honolulu
June 17th 2009
Published: June 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

June 17
Something woke me extra early and when I glanced at my phone it read 5:45. Ideally, I should have gotten out of bed and gotten an early start to my day, but I feel asleep for another hour.

At 6:45 I decided to make today my Pearl Harbor day. I had read that there was a flea market at Aloha Stadium on Wednesdays, so even if I got to Pearl Harbor later than the recommended time, at least I’d have somewhere to go to kill time. So, I ate my usual breakfast of a yogurt and graham cracker with peanut butter (healthy, right) got dressed and ready, checked out the bus schedule and was out the door by 7:30.

From what I’ve read, you can’t bring anything onto the tour of the U.S.S. Arizona, so it’s better to leave it home. Well, it can be checked for $3, but why spend it if I don’t have to. So today I left everything behind other than my camera and $20 and began the long bus ride across town. The buses are very convenient, but man it was a long trip. I even took the “express” bus, though I don’t know what made it “express”; the trip still took about an hour.

I arrived at Pearl Harbor around 9:15 and went to pick up my free ticket. My ticket was for 11:15. I was happy to have some time to walk to the flea market and check it out. It was a little bit of a walk, but well worth it. It cost $1 to get in, and the booths circle the entire perimeter of the stadium. Endless..booth after booth of clothing, jewelry, souvenirs, suitcases, etc… I had read that it was cheaper than the shops in Waikiki, and it really was! In fact, it was cheaper than Walmart too. I wish I had known about this place when I needed a towel. The only things I think are too overpriced there are the aloha wear - dresses and stuff.

I walked around the entire stadium before I had to make my way back to the U.S.S. Memorial. Once there, I had a few minutes to spare so I grabbed a sandwich from the small café inside and waited in line for the video and tour. It’s a smooth operation they’re running there - organized, fast moving, and free! The movie lasted about 15 minutes and then I boarded the boat for the ride over to the memorial. I loved the video; so interesting and informative. And the memorial was incredible too; standing on this beautiful, peaceful, bright white structure, while knowing that the ship, with men still on board, is directly below, was a poignant experience.

By 12:30, there wasn’t much else to do at the memorial that didn’t cost money, so I walked back to the flea market. Unfortunately, I only had about $10 to use for shopping, so I really just walked and looked again for another hour. I bought a few bracelets and flower clips for my hair, a bowl of fruit, and then made my way back to the bus. It was so hot out and there wasn’t a water fountain anywhere on site. I felt dehydrated and tired. This time I took another bus back to Waikiki which took an hour as well. *for anyone else planning on going to the flea market in the future, I’d recommend the VIP shuttle in the flea market parking lot which only charges $5 and gets you back in like 20 minutes. For myself, I figured why waste the money when I have nothing better to do 

I was dropped off next to the zoo (about a mile & ½ from home) and though I had a transfer, I decided to walk so I could get that free ride to Niketown later on. I arrived home about 3:30 and relaxed until 5pm. Then got dressed for my group run and headed off to Niketown.

It was nice being able to catch the bus over this time. Tonight’s run was a large group. Probably about 50 or so. I really love these Niketown group runs. It’s such a neat experience. They all know each other and the Niketown employees know everyone’s names too. There’s a tent set up outside the store where you sign in. They have lockers with locks provided to store your stuff in. They set the running courses with 4 options for distance, and when you get back they provide free water and a plate full of snacks (small pieces of bagel, banana, orange, pineapple & luna bar). And all of this…is free. It’s a great club and I’m so happy that I found it. Tonight I ran
Aloha StadiumAloha StadiumAloha Stadium

site of the swap meet
five miles again; the same route as I did on Saturday. I’m looking forward to the next Saturday run which is a new course around Ala Moana park - an area that I haven’t gone to yet.

By now it was about 7:15 or so and I felt like sitting in a hot tub. I changed into my bathing suit and went in search of a resort hot tub to sneak into. I ended up using the hot tub at the Outrigger, which is a funny scene. The hot tub happens to be on the deck of Duke’s Restaurant’s outside patio. So here I am relaxing in the Jacuzzi on the patio of a restaurant, while hundreds of diners are eating dinner on the same patio just 3 feet away. It felt kind of funny, but it was relaxing.

By 8:00 I began my walk home. I walked by the Moana Surfrider, and Jen I did this for you, I walked into the lobby to smell it…yeah it smelled amazing. In fact, the entire hotel is amazing. I’m becoming obsessed with it. The next time I come here and stay in a real resort, I hope I can stay in this one. (Actually Mom…will you come visit and stay in this one and I’ll stay with you?) JK. The hotel is all white, classic, like something you picture in the Hamptons. And the wooden rocking chairs that line the front of the hotel where people just sit and people watch over Kalakaua St…priceless. I want to be rocking in one of those chairs.

And that’s about the end of my day. I read for a few minutes when I got home sometime around 9…but I fell asleep with my face on the book and the light on, which is why the blog is late today. No plans for the next day or two….it’s all up in the air.



Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

The U.S,S, Arizona MemorialThe U.S,S, Arizona Memorial
The U.S,S, Arizona Memorial

From across the water at the Visitor Center
Lei flowers in the waterLei flowers in the water
Lei flowers in the water

It's tradition to drop your lei flowers in the water at the memorial
The Wall of NamesThe Wall of Names
The Wall of Names

The wall is filled with over 1700 names of service men who lost thier lives on the U.S.S. Arizona
The swap meetThe swap meet
The swap meet

I have no idea who the woman in pink is...I just wanted a picture of the row of booths


18th June 2009

Smelled
Jen, I am so happy you went into the Surfirder to catch a whiff of that scent. It is lovely. I have lotion with that scent and soap. It reminds me of our trip. Yes, you should stay there sometime, or better yet, have your wedding there! Do you see how I am always planning for other people's weddings? I haven't been to a wedding in so long! When we stayed, we saw many brides coming in for photos, but I am not sure if they were being married there. When you stay at the Surfrider, you will want the bed. It might be cheaper to test out the Heavenly Bed at the Westin Kierland during the summer. Everyone should sleep on that bed. Pure bliss. Jay would sit in the rockers on the porch drinking coffee from whatever the place attached to the Surfrider was every night while he waited for me to get ready. Btw, that coffee kills Starbucks coffee. I love Kona coffee. I have already added the Aloha Stadium swap meet to my to-do list for my next trip. And that St. Louis Heights hike - want to do that as well. Who needs Fodor's or Frommer's when they have you?
19th June 2009

Hello!
Hi Jen! I have enjoyed reading about all of your adventures! I'm so proud of you for taking this journey to learn and explore. I could never do it! I'm also enjoying all of your beautiful photos as I have never been to Hawaii. I have read the book Water for Elephants and loved it! We are heading off to San Diego for a week then I start working again after I return. We all miss you and wish you well! Thanks for sharing with us and I'll try to keep up with you!! Miss you! Love Jen
19th June 2009

Sounds like...
Sounds like you finnaly found what you wanted to do! Your now getting to do what you came for! :) Relax, excersise, just get away :) You should dip into a mystery book, those are always exciting :) One with a murder :D JK but if you want to relax i have found that when your soaking in a pool or lying on a bed, a mystery book is like a lullabye :) I don't really know any mystery books you would like lol...but im sure hawaii has a library! Dont forget to collect seashells :) <3 Ellie
19th June 2009

so jealous!
Hey, so I just picked up your copy of Twilight from Mom, and I am so excited to read it! As for wanting light reading, I am telling you...HARRY POTTER! I hope that you are having a great time just like it sounds! When do you have to come back to start school? I have been telling everyone about your amazing adventures, and we are all so jealous! It's crazy to be here with you in Hawaii and Holly now in San Diego...Andrew says not to get any ideas : ) The title of your new book peaked my interest, I may have to check it out after Twilight. I have been trying to read the Hobbit for months now, and just can't get into it, but Twilight has grabbed my attention, and I am just happy to have something to read as I blow dry my hair again! (Sad, it's really the only time I have to read) I hope that you make it up to Denver sometime when you come back, we really miss you around here, and Naava tells me that she talked to you on the phone whenever she hears your name. I also bet you are working on an amazing tan!!! Love You!!
19th June 2009

Just wondering....
Hi Jen! It's been a few days so I thought I'd say HI and check in. Not much new and exciting here. Yesterday was my day with the kids. They voted on going to the "Rainbow Pool" (better known as Weaver Hollow) over the beach (okay, it's not really a BEACH, is it?) at Bear Creek Lake Park. We played there for 3 hours or so before heading home for a very late lunch. Hanging with Brady and Naava is usually good for quite a few laughs as you know. How was your yesterday? After reading your experience at Pearl Harbor I found myself looking back on ours. Neither Randy or I remembered taking a boat over to the memorial. Wierd. Tomorrow I'm planning a BBQ for Father's Day. I asked Randy to extend an invitation to his kids, all 3...so we shall see. It would be nice if all showed up and still nicer if we all had a good time! Nikki will be here with the kids. So, catch us up when you can. BTW, Holly was right, I was a bit concerned about you hiking unknown trails alone, but surprisingly not as freaked out as Holly may have thought! (No doubt, that scary episode that happened so long ago scarred me for life!) For now Jen, I hope you are growing in a positive direction everyday. Know I'm thinking of you and oh so proud of you. Keep smiling! I love you, Mom
20th June 2009

I enjoy reading your blog. I miss Hawaii sooo bad. I spent 28 days on Kaui on a "life break" (byi myself) I found trail buddies and had a great time. I also got to work with Habitat for Humanity Kauai If you get a chance you should see the real Hawaii and get to Kauai or one of the other islands. Also have you taken the circle island bus? best of luck - Jim - St Louis MO
20th June 2009

So proud of you!
Jen, I'm so sorry this is the first time I am getting around to writting! Things have been so hectic. Kenney fell last week running on the tile and had to get 4 stitches on her forhead. She got them out this week...just in time too! We are leaving tomorrow morning for california for a week! I am so excited to have some time to relax. Who am I kidding...two kids...I never relax. I had to write you before I leave. I am so proud of you! You are so stinkin brave! An adventure in Hawaii all by yourself...AMAZING! I'm sure it gets a little lonely at times, but what a wonderful experience and opportunity to take time for you and you only. I am so proud of you. I am glad you are getting out and meeting people. You never know, maybe you will meet someone special :) Have fun and I look forward to catching up on your blog when we get back! Love- Erin

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0235s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb