Boring Days...Read at own Risk


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu » Honolulu
June 15th 2009
Published: June 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Safeway OutdoorsSafeway OutdoorsSafeway Outdoors

often where I sit and type..although there aren't any plugs outside.
June 15-16
These past two days have been so uneventful, they really don’t even deserve a blog, but it’s my main source of communication with people, so I will blog anyway. I spent just about 24 hours in bed sleeping as much as I possibly could. I rented movies for entertainment including…”The Visitor”, “Yes Man”, & “Thank You for Smoking”. I appreciated the story, but “The Visitor” wasn’t as good as I expected. “Yes Man” was funny and definitely reminded me of what I’m doing here. And “Thank You…” was an entertaining flick too.

I’m also reading Atlas Shrugged; right now I’m on page 70 out of like 1000. I’ve got a long way to go, but my sister Holly always said she loved it, so I’m going to give it a try. I tried reading The Shack and made it close to halfway, but I think it’s just a little too religious for me (sorry Christine). So, between sleeping, reading, and watching movies, that’s about it for me over the past two days.

Today, I decided I’d had enough rest and it was time to step outside again. I walked down the street to the yoga studio I found the other day. It’s brand new and called Diamondhead Yoga. It’s not operated by firemen, but they run their own Firemen shop next door that sells firemen souvenirs and runs surf lessons or something like that. Anyways, it’s a new student special for one week of unlimited classes $20.

My first class was this morning: Pilates. I was the only one there, so I got a private hour and fifteen Pilates lesson. Can’t beat that! The instructor is named Lehela, and she’s super sweet. She said if I want to go out sometime and do something artsy, like Honolulu first Friday, she’d love to go. Hey…another opportunity to go do something.

Speaking of getting out to do something, Greg called and invited me to go hiking tomorrow! Yay! It’s going to be on the west side of the island (a side I haven’t seen yet), so I’m stoked.

Midday, between yoga classes, I made a stupid mistake and pressed the reset button on the wireless router in the house not realizing that it actually resets the whole thing, password, connection and all. I was just so tired of not being able to get online that I
My roomMy roomMy room

still looks the same. maybe next time I'll take the picture looking the other direction?
got desperate. I definitely learned my lesson. I had to ask roommate Bill to bring a network cable home from work and needed my dad’s help at 12pm to finally repair what I had done. I can’t get wireless, but at least we’re back to where we were before. Lucky for me, I learned that I can connect to the internet here at home by using a network cable. So, I may be able to get more of my typing done at home from now on. Good news.

Back to midday…so to kill 2 hours between morning and afternoon yoga, I went back to Safeway. Only today I was shocked to see the inside lounge full, not an empty seat or outlet plug! Wow. I haven’t seen it quite like this before. I sure love this Safeway.

Since my yoga pass is unlimited, I went to my 2nd yoga class at 4:30. This one was a power yoga class. It just might have been the hardest yoga I’ve ever done. Once again, it was a private lesson since I was the only one to show up. Can you believe I only paid $20 and I’ve gotten two private
My kitchenMy kitchenMy kitchen

can you see all that sparkling crackled mirror and shiny wall paper?
lessons already? The instructor’s name is Dorian and he had me sweating like you wouldn’t believe. I only wished there were more people in the class so I could’ve cheated or taken a rest.

And…that was my day. Really, I wish that I had more to say, but that’s it. I’m desperate for some new excitement. Tomorrow-hiking with Greg and his friends and I’m thinking either Pearl Harbor or Haneuma Bay snorkeling on Wed/Thu…and that’s about it. Hopefully I’ll be more interesting tomorrow and I hope to hear from you soon too!



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

My houseMy house
My house

actually, this is the front house. the one i live in is down the long driveway in back :-)
Me WalkingMe Walking
Me Walking

seriously...so bored
My street cornerMy street corner
My street corner

See Diamond Head in the background


16th June 2009

Hello!
Jen, you must keep blogging even on boring days!! I leave reading what you are up to. That is great about your yoga class, maybe it will be like that all week! I am going to email you some other stuff, so talk to you soon!! Love you!
16th June 2009

Being bored..
I wish I was bored in Hawaii! I am bored in Arizona, which isn't such a bad place to be, but I sure wish I had a beach nearby! Being bored is okay. You have to conserve your energy for all the fun things that you are doing this summer. You don't want to come home in August and collapse and not be able to rush back to teaching, do you? Okay, maybe not rush back to teaching. That is so cool you had a private yoga and Pilates lesson! Let me know how the snorkleing is at the place you mentioned. I hear that place is great. I am totally not a snorkler. I don't really care for the fish - kind of the way your are with the cockroaches. And Pearl Harbor is awesome. Did I tell you I didn't want to go because I saw it on the Brady Bunch? It was way better than Mike Brady portrayed it.
16th June 2009

Kitchen
I kind of like the kitchen. I wouldn't do mine that way today, but back in the day that kitchen was probably really cool. It still looks cool - very retro and festive. I like anything festive.
16th June 2009

Not so bad
I was expecting worse! Two private yoga lessons- thats freaking awesome! And I also actually enjoy that kitchen- but I'm a crazy retro freak. Haha- I'm totally excited that you are reading that book, can't wait to hear what you think. Dad and I have argued about it- I love it, he hates it, but whatever! The length alone sure makes it a good summer book. Now I've got to find myself one. Hit me up with some suggestions- and NO TWILIGHT! :)
17th June 2009

What you are missing out on....
So while you enjoy the PEACE and QUIET of Hawaii, I on the other hand have staged a battle against our jobless, lazy ass neighbor. I came home early today from work and all I heard was BOOM BOOM BOOM from his video games. So for the last hour I have had my music BLARING. With the bass at full blast. I am so tired of him. All weekend while him mom was gone he pulled this crap. So as quiet as your days are enjoy them..because if you were home you would have to listen to that nonsense. I'd trade places with you in a heart beat! :)
17th June 2009

Love it!
Thank you for posting more of your room/house, Chad thinks you need to get a magazine and pull out pictures to put up on the walls - he offerred to send you some:) Hang in there!
17th June 2009

kitchen comments
I think your summer kitchen strangely resembles our current kitchen which is truely retro or another way of saying outdated. You should feel at home in it, as I hope you do in ours. Guess you were ready for a break and now back at it... hope the hike was good and don't forget about the bike.....have fun - keep blogging

Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0868s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb