Detour


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Maui » Upcountry
May 19th 2010
Published: July 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Holy Ghost ChurchHoly Ghost ChurchHoly Ghost Church

I thought "What a small, quaint, picturesque church" Yum...

Time to Leave, Or Is It?



It's time to leave the upcountry hills and mountains of Maui. Though I experienced an affinity with the upcountry - and i do love my mountains - other adventures await us and the lure of a new adventure is one i can rarely deny myself. However, before we depart we take a side tour to visit an unusual site.

I love interesting architecture, cemeteries and holy places, to name a few. I’m ecstatic if all three are combined in one place. And so it is that I learn that Holy Ghost Mission is nearby. We drive a short distance and there, just off the road, is the most unusual architecture - an octagon shaped church. I am fortunate once again to be nearly the only person in sight. I discover the church is on both the State and Federal Historical Building Registries. As well, I learn that thousands of Portuguese Catholics immigrated to Maui from the Azores and Madeira Islands. They were contract laborers for the sugar plantation. They and their families brought with them a great devotion to the Catholic Church, the Holy Ghost, and the traditions surrounding the crown of Queen
Holy Ghost Church Holy Ghost Church Holy Ghost Church

Steeple Against the Sky
Elizabeth of Portugal. Many eventually stayed becoming independent farmer and ranchers. Eventually Father Beissel, who managed the district and was, during this time, holding mass in a local parishioner’s home envisioned and designed a church. The same local men volunteered their skills and labors for its construction which began in December of 1894. One year later the church was mostly completed and opened to serve their needs.

By far the most beautiful element of the church, besides the design, is the altar. A women I met at the entrance, where we were both admiring the view, informed me that the altar had been shipped in pieces and they didn’t know how it went together as there were no instructions. So, they laid it out on the floor and figured it out for themselves. We trust it is put together correctly. But, i did look closely just in case...

Later, I learned more of this: “The richly decorated altar and the Portuguese language Stations of the Cross were commissioned by Father Beissel in 1895 and were carved by the famous artisan and master woodcarver, Ferdinand Stuflesser, from Groden, Tirol, Austria. Shipped in nine separate crates around the Cape of
Holy Ghost Church Holy Ghost Church Holy Ghost Church

Interior with special imported altar
Good Hope to Hawaii, the altar and stations were hauled by oxcart from Kahului Harbor to Waiakoa and reassembled by the faithful members of the parish. They are recognized now as examples of museum-quality ecclesiastical art of that time. In January of 1899 Bishop Ropert Gulstan of Honolulu arrived to officiate at the formal dedication the church.” Courtesy of Kula Catholic Community

I had the thought that it is amazing the things we can do, no matter how difficult, when we believe in something with all our hearts and minds and are committed to it.

Numerous people spoke highly of the mission and encouraged us to attend the Holy Ghost Feast the coming weekend, an annual event with a day long schedule of entertainment, games, keiki activities, a farmers market, baked goods sale, food booths and other festivities on Saturday. Sunday’s activities include a Mass and procession, a free laulau feast, and a livestock auction. Noteworthy is the rich tradition of this feast. There is much story and history associated with it. This popular event celebrates Pentecost and benefits the historic Holy Ghost Mission at 4300 Lower Kula Road in Waiakoa. The feast is sponsored by Kula’s Roman Catholic community,
Holy Ghost ChurchHoly Ghost ChurchHoly Ghost Church

Closeup of Altar
including Our Lady Queen of the Angels in Keokea, Holy Ghost Mission in Waiakoa and St. James the Less Mission in Ulupalakua.


Here are the photos I took. Notice the small cemetery to one side which is behind the church. No ghosts though. I didn’t find "power" here either at this site. Not in the ways that one would expect from such a venue. Nevertheless, the church exuded a soft diffused energy that reflected people's love, devotion and commitment. I could feel it - gentle and nurturing. This energy gave me the sense that it would continue to draw people for a long time to come - as long as their love exists. To those who believe I think they will find, in the Holy Ghost Mission, a home.

Having had a lovely experience here, I left feeling appreciative and grateful. Becky tolerated my need to take photos and patiently waited for me to finish up. We then pull out of the driveway and I consider whether I want to go to another highly recommended tourist location: Alii Kula Lavender Farm.

It’s nestled on the right side of narrow Crater Road as it winds upward through
Holy Ghost ChurchHoly Ghost ChurchHoly Ghost Church

Really Close Up of Altar Detail
eucalyptus trees and small farms, beginning its climb to Haleakala National Park and Volcano. From the side of the road where we pulled over, I saw the lavender plants growing in large carefully arranged groupings and with what looks like meticulous care. It was attractive and inviting. Sorry though, I just could not generate interest in their $25.00 tour of over 20 varieties of Lavender, or the large number of foods, and medicinal, or personal products that it can be found in and/or tasted in, or purchased from their little shop. Perhaps because of my training in herbal remedies, I am already familiar with this plant and have great respect for it. Still, it’s not my favorite scent either. Though the reviews were great, I passed on this one. Here’s their web link and my photographs of the farm, though admittedly, from afar. Alii Kula Lavendar Farm

Onward and downward to…

Next Blog.





Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Holy Ghost ChurchHoly Ghost Church
Holy Ghost Church

Octagon Ceiling
Alii Kula Lavendar Farm Alii Kula Lavendar Farm
Alii Kula Lavendar Farm

Pretty as a Picture. Oh, it is a picture...
Alii Kula Lavendar Farm Alii Kula Lavendar Farm
Alii Kula Lavendar Farm

Lavendar, Lavendar, Lavendar...


13th July 2010

Ya Lettie
So good to hear from you. I must be so exciting to go on these amazing adventures. I look forward to hearing more. Love you Debbie King
14th July 2010

Sister!
It's good to hear from you! Debbie KING! I didn't know. When did this happen? See, i'm off galavanting around the world and your life has just gone on without me. (-:

Tot: 0.188s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0968s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb