Black Rock Mountain


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Georgia
August 23rd 2013
Published: August 24th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I slept late this morning; got up around 9 am. We had our routine (coffee, oj, ww blueberry waffles and Ken's toast). We decided to explore today...wherever...the sun is shining which is a treat for us these days.

We pick up a turkey sandwich from Subway and head to Black Rock Mountain State park. It's an 1800 acre park, the highest in Georgia. It is part of the Blue Ridge mountains. The elevation is 3640 feet. It is a beautiful drive and we stop along the way to enjoy the view. With all the rain I can imagine how beautiful the autumn will be. As we head back down the mountain, we went a different way and drove through beautiful farm lands. We came across a working grist mill. (see picture)

We continue down the mountain, make a stop at Walmart and head back to the RV. We get our hiking boots on and hike to the overlook to the falls in our campground. We've been waiting for this....for the rain to stop.

Tallulah Gorge is two miles long and nearly 1,000 feet deep. You can get a permit to hike to the gorge floor. They give out 100 permits a day. We opted for walking along the rim. 😊 Karl Wallenda-(January 21, 1905 – March 22, 1978) was a German-American high wire artist who crossed the gorge in 1970. (great-grandfather of current performer Nik Wallenda) It is so hot, humid and buggy! I walked in to a huge spider web on the way back and I feel like spiders are crawling on me, but Ken assures me they are not! I am a desert girl for sure. By the time we get back to the campground (mostly uphill), I am soaking wet and itchy.

I lay on the air conditoned floor of the RV, while Ken puts somes potatoes on the grill. We are having potatoes, green beans and cottage cheese for dinner....and a little red wine. We called Uncle Don, Annie and Bobbie to say hello. They were at Annies's grilling hamburgers...miss them! We called Lola, no answer, left a message. We watched a really horrible movie: The Big Wedding. There were a lot of pretty big names in it but what a flop! We took showers...a big storm came...got candles out just in case we lose electricity. Ken is reading while I am blogging. Tomorrow we are headed to Stone Mountain. I will be working on site next week in Atlanta.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

A water grist millA water grist mill
A water grist mill

We came along this on the backroad
Tallulah FallsTallulah Falls
Tallulah Falls

a trail in our campground


26th August 2013

Hi Margie, It looks like you and Ken are having a wonderful time. But, I\'d have to substitute something for the daily waffles! Be safe out there! I look forward to our next divinely inspired meeting! Blessings - Leo
26th August 2013

Leo!
I love my disciplined breakfast...I usually lose it after that. They are whole grain 2 for 190 calories. :) Been praying for you. How is your progress?

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0417s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb