The Rally Perry, GA


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Georgia
March 13th 2008
Published: March 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Rally campgroundRally campgroundRally campground

This is one of the many lots around the fairgrounds where many RVers are camping while attending The Rally. This section is set up for RVs and has electricity. Folks fill their fresh water tanks before arriving. Most of the other lots are dry camping where they use their fresh water and house batteries / generator.
Hello from The Rally in Perry, GA. The Rally is one of the largest (if not the largest) RV rallies in the country. Today was the first day of the event.

I began by getting a “tour” of the Georgia National Fairgrounds thanks to some of the volunteers not understanding the registration process. I followed the directions in my packet and went to the parking area for folks like me who aren’t camping in one of the lots surrounding the fairgrounds. When I asked where registration was, I was told to get back in my Jeep and drive to the other side of the facility to “will call”. I knew that didn’t sound right, but I went anyway. Turns out my instincts were correct - they sent me to the WRONG PLACE. Those folks sent me right back where I was (and called on the walkie talkies to enlighten the parking volunteers) and I went in the grounds to the registration building .

After I ate lunch I headed off to some of the seminars. Much to my disappointment, the ones I chose appeared to be sales pitches for products. I was afraid that might be the case, but
FairgroundsFairgroundsFairgrounds

The Bradford Pears are in bloom here in central Georgia.
hoped I was wrong.

The indoor exhibition hall doesn’t open until Friday morning, but the outdoor exhibits opened at 3 pm this afternoon. Hundreds of RVs - everything from small travel trailers to 5th wheels up to the biggest and most expensive “Loretta Lynn Buses” were on display. Mind boggling is the best way to describe it. I thought the large dealership in Florida was incredible, but the display here makes them look like a small town RV dealer .

I enjoyed walking around looking for photo ops. I walked through a few units just to see some things I didn’t get to look at down in Florida the last few months (yes there are some brands they don’t sell).

Rain is supposed to move in tomorrow, but I’m planning on spending the day inside checking out the over 500 vendors.

Hope you enjoy a few images from the day.

Unless the weather that’s to move through the next couple of days is severe on Saturday, I’ll probably hit the road and head for the mountains. So this may be the last post for this trip.

More updates will be forthcoming as the year
million dollar shotmillion dollar shotmillion dollar shot

Not every photographer can say they've captured a "million dollar" shot. I took several today!
unfolds. Several short trips are on tap between now and the middle of June. A big journey out west is in the final planning stages. Stay tuned.

That’s it for now. Bruce and Chessy



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Queueing upQueueing up
Queueing up

About 20-30 minutes BEFORE the outdoor exhibits opened, folks started lining up to get in one section. It may be hard to see from this shot, but I'd estimate 75-100 people lined up before the "opened" the gates. I walked over and asked if I had missed the memo and were they giving away money to the first so many people in. Turns out they were lined up because Fleetwood was giving away peach cobbler (while supplies lasted). An hour and a half later, when I worked my way to their large display, I was still able to get some cobbler (but they were temporarily out of ice cream).
Freightliner chassisFreightliner chassis
Freightliner chassis

This is what my RV looks like underneath the coach! I told the Freightliner employee who drove this in I sure am glad Bob Tiffin put a more comfortable seat in MY coach!


Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 72; dbt: 0.0992s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb