Meet Marci McCarver


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Georgia » Smyrna
July 22nd 2011
Published: July 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

My name is Marci McCarver and I have been married to my husband, Tony, for 35 years. I was not brought up in church and did not attend until after I was married for five years. Our sinful lifestyle of partying led to a lot of problems in our marriage. My husband, Tony, who was a Christian, had gotten far away from God but thankfully God never abandoned him. He realized his need to return to Christ and for us to go to church. After 6 months of attending church I heard a message on faith that was speaking directly to me. The pastor was saying belief in God is not based on our feelings but on our faith. And with faith as small as a mustard seed, God can do the impossible through you. That is when I decided to step out on what little faith I had at the time and at the age of 25, I accepted Jesus Christ as my Savior.

Since my salvation, I have grown in the Lord but it was not until my first mission trip to Romania in 1996 that I started living for God and not myself. I still can not explain what happened on that trip but God changed my life. I experienced a brokenness of spirit, my spirit, and an indwelling of the Holy Spirit like never before. I’m thankful God never quits perfecting us even though it is a hard process. I desire so much to be more like Jesus in my attitude towards others and it seems sometime I fail more than exceed. But God is so patient and faithful to complete the work he started in us. Jesus not only came to give us eternal life and save us from hell but He came to give us His very life, a life of victory over this world and all the ups and downs it throws at us. God’s love for me is now my motivation to want to know Him and serve Him more. God’s perfect love for me gives me an awesome sense of peace and security and I am so grateful for that.

God gave me this verse my last day in Romania that explained the work he was doing in me:
Ps. 119:37 Turn away my eyes from looking at vanity (worthless things), and revive me in Your ways.

Since that first mission trip to Romania, Tony and I have continued going on international mission trips every year, focusing mainly in Bolivia and Brazil. As a result of our love for missions and all that entails, our organization, Mission Resources International, was formed in 2000 (www.mrimissions.org). Because of the impact God made in our lives on our first mission trip, we have a passion to take people, especially first timers, on international trips. We are continually amazed and humbled at how He has used our small organization. It is far beyond us, which we love because we know it is God who is at work.

We are so excited to be partnering with Vinings Lake on this mission trip to Bolivia. We look forward to seeing what God does in and through each of us to reach the peoples of Bolivia for Christ. And we know in reaching out to others, God will change and bless each team member more than they can imagine.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0263s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb