There Are 100 Ways to Say Happiness in Chinese


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Tallahassee
August 24th 2010
Published: August 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Took About 100 PicturesTook About 100 PicturesTook About 100 Pictures

To Get This One Showing Happiness
as represented by 100 different Chinese characters. You can buy it on a scroll in China. It was on my list but I couldn't find it what with all the 100 ways of finding happiness in completing my family. The first night we were home, we started to see tiny pieces of Jin's history emerge. He couldn't figure out how to navigate the step in our living room, which means that he'd never gone up stairs before. He immediately climbed aboard the train we have that you sit on and wheel around the room, which means that he'd been on something similar before. In the morning, I gave him his first breakfast in the U.S. - formula and pumpkin and banana and almond butter baby oatmeal. It is a week now that we are home. Jin is very very slowly starting to smile and laugh and have moments where he forgets that he had a life far, far away from us and from everything here. His sense of humor is starting to show itself. He really thinks it is funny to shake his head "No" which he does often and with great vigor. Even one week on, our jet lag seems just as bad as when we first arrived home. The boys sleep in and then want to stay up. Even when we wake them at a reasonable time during the day, they still want to party all night. In the morning, we step over sippy cups, assorted toys, and cheerios strewn about. Still, exhausted though we are in these sleepwalking-through-the-day-days, we are thrilled that Jin has completed our family. Well, except for Bao, whose question of the day continues to be this: "When Jin Go to China"? In between all the shoving and the hitting, and the "That mine!", and the "That mine too!" and the "Had it first!" we know there is a loving brother in there...somewhere? Please?

And, so, dear readers, this story of how a two year old found his brother halfway across the world must come to an end. Hope that you have enjoyed these entries and that you have your own 100 ways to express happiness.

Yours truly,

The So Tired but Very Happy Parents from Tallahassee, the Amazing Boy from Vinh Long, and the Curious Boy from Zhengzhou




Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

I Will MakeI Will Make
I Will Make

You Breakfast
No BoyNo Boy
No Boy

Is An Island
I Can't Get AwayI Can't Get Away
I Can't Get Away

From This Guy


28th August 2010

Awesome
Hi Cindy, Thank you for sharing your incredible journey. You are one terrific and entertaining writer (: It has really been fun following you guys. I hope that you'll send updates on how the two bro's are progressing Here is to your family's, health and many more awesome adventures!
28th August 2010

100 ways to say thank you
i can only think of this one small way..to say thank you. thank you for sharing your families journey with us. you have made us feel part of your bigger family. such a joy to meet jin and welcome him to his new life. i love him already.
28th August 2010

Thank you!
Welcome home and thank you for sharing your incredible journey. Cindy girl -- you are the most amazing writer . . .what a gift you have. I felt as though I was right there with you, each step of the way. Hugs and kisses to Boa and Jin! We can't wait to see you. :):)
28th August 2010

Welcome Home!
Congrats guys! Wow what an amazing journey. We are so happy that you are home safe and sound and ready for action - sorta.
28th August 2010

Welcome home
Cindy, Thank you and Allen for sharing this incredible journey. I have laughed, cried, and prayed through it! I know the real journey has just begun for your family.........enjoy the ride! I look forward to having my own Bao and Jin Little Lamb stories to share with you.
29th August 2010

Glad you're home safe and sound!
I hadn't gotten the chance to check on the blog in awhile. Wow, I missed a lot. I'm so happy to hear you're home again, even if you're half dead! Ha, ha. I remember when Lena and I got home, we literally just passed out from exhaustion and it took a good 2 weeks to get completely back in the groove again. But hey, you've just been around the world - literally, and have brought home a new 'baby' so-to-speak. It's to be expected! Bao is hilarious. He reminds me of Lena when I brought Ryder home from the hospital. She was 22 months old and after he was in our front door for an hour or so she said, "Mommy, Daddy, when you take Ry-Ry back?" Jealousy knows no bounds! I knew from my psychology classes that her actions were a sign of just how bonded she was to us, and should be encouragement that you two are great parents! Bao will come around. You just wait until they're a little older and some other kid goes to pick on Jin. That's when that true brotherly love will come out of him. I'd hate to be that kid! The two of them are gonna be GREAT together! Thanks so much for doing this blog. Don't be a stranger! E-mail me sometime, and I want updated pics now and then (if you get the chance; and if you're like me, that's probably not likely), and I'll try to do the same. Oh, and Bao's eye looks like it healed up great! God bless the 4 of you! Enjoy each other!
30th August 2010

Glad your back!
I'm glad you guys are all back safe and sound! I really enjoyed seeing pictures and reading about your adventures! Take care!! -milinda
30th August 2010

What a Journey
Thanks for sharing the story of your two adorable boys. When my mother brought my little brother home from the hospital, I asked her to return him the way she'd return a dress she didn't like to the department store. I kept asking for about 20 years, but he never did get returned, and now we finally get along. You are a remarkably talented writer--your sense of adventure and humor really sparkle. I have to admit, at first I was a little nonplussed by the number of times my e-mail would say there was another entry, but soon I could not get enough. I enjoyed every one of them. We're going to see you on the bestseller list one of these days. Looking forward to reading more stories, and hope we'll see all of you soon. Sending you all lots of love and wishes for joy, luck and harmony.
31st August 2010

Welcome home!
We have enjoyed your travels and seeing China through your story. Can't wait to meet Jin. They are both precious. Sleep is way over-rated. If you're not up with little ones, you're up with teenagers! Take Care! Gloria Joseph

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb