Catching Up


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Plant City
February 26th 2018
Published: March 6th 2018
Edit Blog Post

blog 02-26-18 to 03-05-18 Catching Up

I have gotten so far behind so I'm catching up here.

Monday the 26th was moving day and it was so nice having help to pack everything up and hook up the car. I didn't have to get in and out of the car to see if the distance between the 2 was good for attaching the tow bars. We were off and in Clermont by 11:35 am to get a spot next to Ginnie in the Thousand Trails campground. I did get a nice site and we set up and were ready for happy hour early. It was great catching up with Kat, Kim and Ginnie and for dinner we went to a local Italian resturant that has become a favorite.

The next morning I took Dee to the airport to arrive on time before 9 am. So sad saying goodbye, we had a wonderful visit. I had noticed a propane smell and discovered that there must be a leak. I had the propane regulator replaced 3 weeks ago so I called Camping World and they took me right in. Two days later and another trip back the leak was finally fixed, the "new" regulator had a break in the back of it. So another new one, all on them, and hopefully I am good to go for a while.

Kat and Kim left for the north, sad to see them go but Kat is getting a new grandbaby and Kim is getting a new house.

March 1st was cleaning day. I tore the camper apart and washed everything, it was in desperate need of a scrubbing. Then it was relax time til the launch at 5:02 pm where Ginnie, Judy and I went to the lake to see the blast off. It is far away from here but I did manage to get a picture of the rocket and the spiral vapor trail.

March 2nd I went with Larry, friends from PA, Judy's other half, out looking for photo opportunities. Larry is taking a photography course and his assignment for this week is "abandoned". So we went in search for things abandoned, and ended up in the rv storage area at the park. Some of those poor things have been forgotten for lots of years. Larry had an abundance of material so he snapped away.

I took some pictures of the campground and a sandhill crane coming over to see my lawn ornaments.

March 3rd was Saturday and that is the day for yard sales in the campground. Ginnie, Larry and I went for a ride on Ginnie's golf cart driving all over to see what bargins we could find. Ginnie got 2 books and Larry and I had a fun ride. I visited a lot with Ginnie the rest of the day because I leave tomorrow for the west coast of FL for the next 3 weeks then home.

I have had a great time with my camping girlies so it's hard to say goodbye. But the west coast is waiting and hopefully more birds, and I get to visit with Nell sometime along the way.

March 4 was moving day and by 10 I had everything put away and suddenly my friends arrived to say goodbye. Judy pulled the car behind the camper perfectly and hook-up was easy. By 10:45 I was on the road to Alafia River State Park in Lithia, FL. I didn't remember being there before but as I got closer it looked familiar. I camped here with my sister Pat a couple of years ago so I remembered some of the fun places.

My campsite is really nice, quiet, peaceful and private. It is a pull-through too so I didn't have to detach the car right away. Watson was a really good boy while I set up camp then we went for a walk down to the lake. It's not much of a lake more like a large pond but there was lots of wildlife about. Before I could get my camera up for a picture I saw a bald eagle harrassing an osprey with a fish, eagle trying to steal it. The osprey got away and the eagle dissapeared amoung the flock of vultures.

We walked further and heard what I thought was a coot and yes, not too much later there he was. Picture

We saw cormorants, white egrets, turkey and black vultures, red-shoulder hawk but no alligators. There are signs warning about them but they are just precautionary, I hope.

In the field along the way home there were dragon flies all over flitting about. The sun was at a nice angle so their wings were shinning like gold. Of course I tried to take their picture but I ended up getting a close up of them by cropping a larger picture. They were really fast, never stopping.

We went back to the camper, made dinner and watched a little tv til it put me to sleep.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0549s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb