Disneyworld - Magic Kingdom


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Orlando
February 1st 2010
Published: February 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Disneys Magic Kingdom - the HEART of Disney and where all the 'magic' happens. Now anyone who knows me well, knows im all about the Magic of Disney. Its something I have experienced each and every time I have walked through the front gates of this park and something that I really cant describe. Since I had only ever been to Disneyland before and it was my first time to DisneyWORLD I was a little worried I wouldnt feel it.
Things were different from the very beginning. We pulled into probably the biggest parking lot I have ever seen in my life! From there you get onto a tram that take you to a monorail that takes you to the park entrance. I honestly dont understand why they planned it out this way as it adds an extra 45 minutes to your journey at the beginning and end of your day, and I must say... it dampened my excitment a bit. Once inside the park was just as beautiful and spotlessly clean as the one in California although it was alot more spread out. It had all the same lands; Main Street, Fronteirland, Fantasyland, Tomorrowland, Adventureland, Toontown, but they were laid out differently.
Tomorrowland was alot of fun. It had my all time favourite ride (Space Mountain) which, by the way, is better in California due to a lack of music on the coaster, my brother Matthews favourite (Buzz Lightyear) aswell as some added bonuses like talking garbage cans that follow you around trying to hold a conversation. One thing they had in Florida but dont have in the California park is the Monster Inc. Laugh floor which turned out to be lots of fun. Its a show where Mike is trying to collect laughs to power the city where he lives (just like at the end of the movie.) He cracks jokes and gets the audience involved until the tank is full and the show is over. I especially enjoyed it as I was picked to participate, even though my hand wasnt up!
Adventureland had mostly the same rides and attractions at the one in Disneyland. Pirates of the Carribean was the same, except for having one smaller drop as opposed to two medium sized drops (my mother appreciated that!) It had the Jungle Cruise with the guides telling the same corny jokes, the Swiss Family Robinson Tree House (now called Tarzans tree house in California) and the same unpopular Enchanted Tiki Room. Unlike Disneyland, they also had a ride called Aladdins Magic Carpet which was similiar to the Dumbo ride from Fantasyland.
Fronteirland is probably my favourite in the park. Its got Big Thunder Mountain coaster, Splash Mountain (which was closed when we were there for updates) and Tom Sawyers Island. Just off to the side of Fronteirland is also the Haunted Mansion which I went on for the first time this trip and LOVED. The only thing that we really missed seeing was the hilarious Golden Coral dining show, which they only have in California.
Fantasyland seemed alot smaller in Disneyworld, despite being more spread out. The pathways were wider and the rides were seperated a little more, but it was all seemed squished into 2 walls with all the rides down each side. It was missing all three Pinnochio rides but did have a wonderful show called Mickeys Philharmagic. Peter Pans Flight was the same, with the same loooong line up to get on but the classic 'Its a Small World' but scaled way down compared the its California version.
Toontown was a huge dissapointment in Disneyworld. It consisted of about 3 buildings and a minicoaster and didnt have any of the special features like exploding firework houses or talking mail boxes. We spent all of 3 minutes in this area, which we usually would spend a few hours in in California.
The Parades and evening shows were as wonderful as ever, and I will say that the Castle in Disneyworld is definitely more beautiful then the one in Disneyland. But if I had to pick between the two, I would probably pick the park in California. Theres alot more to do at it and for some reason, it just felt more magical to me. Now this doesnt mean I didnt have a blast, cause I certainly did! We just werent sure it was worth the 6 hour plane ride over to see that park in peticular. But of course - you cant get Epcot, Disney Studios or Animal Kingdom in California!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



2nd February 2010

Exciting!
Wow, what a busy and fun week you guys had! You posted great pictures and I can feel all the excitement you guys experienced in reading this blog! Thanks for posting, very interesting! XX

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0339s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb