Magic Your Way at Epcot


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Orlando
December 10th 2008
Published: December 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

December 31, 1999, we had a blast at the millennium celebration at Magic Kingdom. Today, the thirty-something me had a blast at Epcot. Vacationing wasn't the purpose of this trip. But, we all agreed that we just had to squeeze out some fun time.

The moment you step out your arrival gate at the Orlando International Airport, the allure of Disney is ubiquitous. There is something about Disney that attracts people around the globe, regardless of your ages or skin color. Perhaps, magic, fantasy or a little bit of both? Just think about it. When can you proudly wear the "mouse ears"? (Halloween doesn't count) Where else can you dress your little girls in cute, pink princess outfit and shining tiaras? (Again, Halloween doesn't count) Lastly, where can you, as an adult, legitimately act like children wooed and wowed by the legendary Mickey and Minnie Mouse?

Age does have a "magical" effect on us though. I couldn't stomach the intense space mission training like I did few years ago. While Mission to Space was fun and thrilling, I was left nauseated. Acceleration at the Test Tract was awesome!! How I wish I could speed like that? But, my heart was beating faster than I could remember. Despite this, I want to go on to these rides again and again, just like little kids!

The other "cool" thing about Epcot is that you can visit the world in literally few hours. From England to America, from Morocco to Mexico, from France to China....................... Of course, it is not meant to be an authentic experience. But, isn't the purpose of visiting Epcot is to experience all that is possible on the planet and in the future?

The day ended with spectacular display of light show and fireworks. Today, I was reminded that there is a little child in me who finds simple things so fulfilling and joyful.


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.303s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 14; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb