We made it to Orlando!!!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Orlando
February 22nd 2007
Published: February 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

What a disaster this morning. We woke up this morning with 10cm of fresh snow on the ground in Milton and it was still coming down. The drive down to Kathy's was horrendous. What normally takes us 15 minutes took over an hour and a half. The traffic was unreal. Of course we didn't make it to the airport the two hours before departure time like we were supposed to. But thanks to Kathy's awesome agressive driving maneuvers she got us there 50 minutes before departure. The check in line was looooong but someone in line told us that there was an agent out there looking for Orlando passengers so we got to bypass the check in line....which we definitely needed considering we still had to go through Customs. Thanks Kathy. You saved us. Thanks for the water too but security took it. And what a laugh we had with Maya on that one. Once we cleared security, Maya asks why they have to look at all our stuff and I told her because they make sure that no one is taking anything dangerous on the plane and she said, "Oh, like water!" LMAO!!!

We arrived in Orlando at 1:30 pm to temperatures of 24 degrees. We rented a Dodge Charger. It's a sweet ride! We're staying at the Amerihost Inn in Kissimmee. Decent place. Can't complain. We went to Olive Garden down the street for dinner. It was good. Kissimmee sure is a busy place.

I called my brother cause he's down here training. Jhonny is down here with him. We wanted to meet up with them while we were down here but it doesn't look like that's gonna happen. 😞 When I called him he told me he was near Tampa. We're 2 hours out of Tampa. We have our Disney Park Hopper tickets for 5 days that start tomorrow. Mark's driving home Saturday. I thought we could at least spend the rest of the day today going down to Tampa but when I called my brother back to tell him we'd come today, his phone was off. Grrrr!!!

After all the stressing of what to bring, I did okay. I only forgot hair elastics for Maya but we hit a dollar store and were saved. However, we goofed big time with Maya's "teddy" bear. He didn't make it out of the house this morning. For those of you who don't know "teddy", he's is a small teddy bear that daddy got her in Chicago waaay back when she use to have nightmares every single night. He told her this bear fights away bad dreams and it actually really did help her with her night terrors. When she realized we forgot him she bawled her eyes out. Poor thing. But she seems to be doing okay. She's been asleep here beside me for the past w hours.

Okay me and my blah, blah, blah....we landed, rented a car, checked into the hotel, bought sandals at Target, hair elastics at the dollar store, sunglasses that I don't even like now, don't know why I bought them, Olive Garden for dinner, Maya swam a little at the hotel pool then we went for a drive to Downtown Disney and the Disney Boardwalk. That's it for today. I'm gonna spend the rest of the night planning out the Disney parks we're going to visit. 1 week is definitely not enough time for Disney World. There's no way we can do it all. But like I said, it's going to be magical for Maya. I'm picking and sorting through the things I know she'll love to do and make it very princess fantasy like. She's quite the little princess.

I'm pissed and having issues with my camera. The photos are sometimes blurry in motion pictures. I know it's an option set that Maya probably accidently changed but I can't seem to fix it. This isn't the best of times to have camera troubles so I am really stressed out. I'm gonna see if I can download a manual online for my camera. I'm putting A LOT into Maya's Magical Fantasy Vacation and if I go home with pictures that are blurry I'll never forgive myself.

But anyway, off to plan for the magic kingdom and then to bed...finally! But here's some pics of Day 1.

God bless.





Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Maya and Sleeping BeautyMaya and Sleeping Beauty
Maya and Sleeping Beauty

Of course a fake...it's only Disney downtown. Hopefully she'll meet her for real at Magic Kingdom


23rd February 2007

HEY
HEY GLAD TO SEE YOU GUYS GOT THERE OK, LOOKS LIKE YOU HAVING A GOOD TIME ALREADY. KEEP ON BLOGGING, I LOOK FORWARD TO READING AND JOINING YOU GUYS ALONG YOUR TRIP. I HOPE MAYA HAS THE TIME OF HER LIFE. TAKE CARE, MARY
24th February 2007

Hey J-LE, I see you took your own little sleeping beauty to Disneyworld. She looks so tired sleeping in the car. Have Fun. Remember NO meat. Only veggies and fish. Ha Ha. Signed Goofy.
24th February 2007

Hey Guys
Hey Guys...i hope you are having a lot of fun...the pictures look great....keep in touch talk to you soon,,,luv ya all, Claudia
24th February 2007

Hi maya, jenny and raphal......hope todays a great day and you have lots of fun maya...i was in orlando last year i think..loved it...maya's soo cute in the pictures.....keep in touch and have a great time.....bye for now (((((MAYA)))) (((((((JENNY)))))) (((((((RAPHAL))))))) luv yas all xoxo

Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.063s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb