Beattock Versus The Bay


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Naples
October 10th 2006
Published: October 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Checked out with a heavy heart and a pounding head.

Greeted by the local Grand Poobah in the car park, taking himself and his Poobah Pal very seriously. You've gotta love the hats.

Stocked up on Pittas at the 7-11 and went for a look around the "famous" St Petersburg Pier. Was pretty dull and very quiet. October is one of the quietest months for vacationers here, which is a god thing as should keep the Motel prices down.

Left Tampa via what has to be the most picturesque rest stop going. Just before the longest crossing of the Bay, they have this area which is used mostly by truckers. I couldn't help comparing it to Beattock services. Worrying thing though was the many signs saying that the area was patrolled by armed guards at night.

Over the big bridge heading towards Naples. I reckon it was a good 3 hour drive on the most boring roads I've ever driven. The forestation is so dense that you cannot see a thing either side of the road, and the roads are ruler straight. It's just case of setting the cruise control and holding the steering wheel straight. I was genuinely tempted to try driving from the seats in the back.

I arrived in Naples and used my discount Coupon to secure a 25 buck discount for a room in the Lemon Tree Inn. Brought it down to 45 bucks plus tax. The first room I was given had obviuosly been used and not cleaned - there was evidence of HEAVY USE in some areas. I remembered I never want to a be a cleaner.

I was given another room and "100 apologies" by the matronly owner.

After chucking my bags down I walked what must have been a good few miles to the Mall for something to eat; my first and hopefully last American McDonalds. By the time I got back to my room the sun was setting so I walked the few blocks to the beach. Best sunset yet.

Walking a different route back to the Motel I started to realise that Naples is a very wealthy place. The houses were amazing, looking in the realtors window the most expensive one I could see was $25,000,000!

Back in the motel it was the usual diet of booze and t'internet to get me to sleep.

NAPLES FACTS

Of America's largest 500 comapnies, over half of the CEO's live in the Naples area.

With more than 80 championship golf courses in the Naples area, Naples is the self-titled "Golf Capital of the World", claiming to have more holes per capita than any other community

Notable residents include the founder of Dominoes Pizza and Judge Judy.




Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.038s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb