15th November 2013, South Beach Miami, FL


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Miami
November 19th 2013
Published: November 19th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Today I woke up at 6.30am. I was up and showered before anyone else in the room woke up. I went and had breakfast in the hostel. Had Bagels with Cheese Spread, doesn't sound that great but it was free and really tasty.

I went back down to the beach after driving around, did lots of walking again and also went to the Marina where I got a few pics of another Pelican and some yachts'. I also found South Point of Miami South Beach which wad a beautiful place - There was women working out in the parks and this was also the channel where all the boats entered the marina and docs.

I drove up all of Washington Avenue as South Point was right at the beginning of it. It was at that point that I realised how cool South Beach was and in particular Washington Ave as everything was on there, from great restaurants, night clubs, bars and shops.

I went and Sunbathes for a little bit, did a few more walks down the beach and then I saw a rain cloud coming so I went to Palace, a gay bar on Collins.. The bar men were giving me free shots which wasn't good as my car was parked down the road. A beer later I thought I better go back to the hostel and drop my car off. I drove back the quickest way and remembered it, preparing myself for the walk back to the bars.

I walked back out and went to a bar for a drink, I had a passive Mojito in a big bowl shaped glass. I was sat next to two women, I thought they were quite enjoying, they were from Northern England and it isn't the most pleasant accent however, I ended up chatting to them after I had eaten my dinner and we had a right old laugh. I told them about my travelling plans and they give me a few recommendations for Oz, do West Coast rather then East so that's now my plans. They bought me a drink and 3 drinks later I left and went back to Palace. Jeez this place is camp and surprising the same as any other gay bar I have ever been too.

They had a drag act on, she was a fat drag who stopped the traffic on Collins and started doing a show on the car bonnet and in the road, I was like WTF is going on here. I had a few more Mojito's and thought I would leave. I stumbled out and went to a bar called FL Café and was chatting to the bar man, Owner for a bit. It was dead in there so as my battery was nearly flat on my phone I thought I would go back to the hostel, get changed, get charged up and go back out.

I walked back but got a little lost, I was literally crying inside lol. I finally made it back though and in good time too.

I was in the lounge charging my phone and three girls came in, two from Argentina and one from Cali. I ended up staying with them in the hostel all night drinking Argentinian Tea from a Yorba Mate. We had a right laugh and subsequently they become my travelling pals for the next two days.

I went back to my room as I was a little tired and tried to get some sleep but different people were checking in and out and needless to say I didn't sleep to well that night.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb