Day 33: Orlando - Miami


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Miami
January 29th 2012
Published: January 29th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Today was a pretty short drive. Stopped at Walmart for about 20 mins and we arrived in Miami around 12.30pm. I had a speedboat tour booked at 2pm so I had time to grab a bite to eat. Pat, Mo and I decided to try some Cuban food. I ordered the Cuban Specialty Platter, which was a mix of fried pork, rice and beans, fried plantain and cassava. The pork was a bit dry, and the cassava had a really strange texture, but the rice and the plantain were good, which is weird because plantain it related to banana, which I absolutely hate. Mo ordered a Cuban coffee, which I got to taste. It was really nice, so I'll definiitely have to have another while I'm here.

We headed to the speedboat at 2pm. Once we were on there, the captain took us to Star Island, which is where the rich and famous have houses. Some people who live around there are Ricky Martin, Carmen Electra, Rosie O'Donnell and Gloria Estefan. Others such as Brad Pitt, Will Smith, Sylvester Stallone and Madonna all own properties there too, but don't live there permanently. Star Island has also been host to movies such as Scarface and Bad Boys, and also the Addam's Family TV series. Once we were done looking at the houses, the captain took us out to the open ocean to cruise up and down South Beach. It was so much fun just seeing all the actone down on the beach, it got us all excited for our free day tomorrow!

For dinner we went to a restaurand called Mango's Tropical Cafe, owned by Gloria Estefan. The food was ok, not fantastic, but once we had finished dinner, we went upstairs to the club and danced the night away. On the bottow floor there was a salsa band playing all night, along with back up dancers, then upstairs there were 2 different club rooms. It was a good night but the drinks were expensive. I had decided not to drink, knowing the prices would be steep, but as an example, I wanted to get a cup of water. Apparently they cant serve cups of water, but bottled water cost $5. What a rip off. I'd hate to be having a big night.

Tomorrow I plan to cruise around South Beach and check out the sights. I definitely want to head to Miami Ink (not getting any work done mum!) and also check out the Holocaust Memorial. If I have time I also want to try parasailing down South Beach. Should be a fun day!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0826s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb