Bienvenido A Miami!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Miami
July 5th 2011
Published: July 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

My flight to Miami was the easiest flight I’ve ever had. I sat across a little girl and her mom and at take off the girl began laughing hysterically which made me laugh hysterically (until my ears popped – so unpleasant) anyways it reminded me of when I was little and took off on an airplane next to my mom, my adrenaline hit an all time high and loved every second of it!


I had a layover in Atlanta so naturally I began looking for Nene Leakes, you never know who you run into so I had high hopes. Nene was a wash but a good distraction until boarding time. Once aboard the flight to Miami, they delayed take off due to a thunderstorm, I must admit I was somewhat confused considering the storm was nonexistent. Luckily I was seated next to two women, in an obvious state of mid-life crisis, bitching about this and that. Is it wrong that I was more than entertained with the conversation?
I decided to spend a few days in Miami prior to traveling to South America so I could get pull myself together and think about what I’m actually doing! I discovered the up’s and downs of traveling solo almost immediately. The first day I had a minor panic attack – normally I have no problem doing things on my own – I quickly realized that this is a whole new story. The underlying situation is that I’ll be doing this for awhile, which I believe is the reasoning for my minor flip out. Overall I learned to buck up and began mingling with fellow travelers.


For all of you that know me well, we all know that I am usually placed in awkward situations. Here’s the first: I booked a hostel with a mixed dorm of 12 beds, upon arrival I realized that this “mixed” dorm is full of testosterone and there is only one other girl, whom I might add is never there. I think in the end I’m doing them a favor. I say this because I’ve already noticed a transition in their behavior for example: first night there was a lot of gas, snoring, clothes thrown about and toothpaste in the sink. After getting to know one another, I noticed that they all cleaned up their SHIT and kept everything to their area, I swear to you it was like magic. It’s interesting living with guys because they don’t sugar coat things simply because I don’t think they know how. Our room does have a couple crazies though I must say, and of course these ones are my favorite. Last night after most of us were asleep, one who shall not be named waltzes in talking to himself. Half asleep, I began noticing he was repeating everything 2-3 times to add to it, he was basically narrating his current activity Example: “I’m making a bunch of noise, I’m making a bunch of noise, it’s going to piss everyone off, it’s going to piss everyone off, now I’m taking off my pants, now I’m taking off my pants, now I’m taking off my pants, now I’m hopping into bed now I’m hopping into bed now I’m hopping into bed”. HAHAHAHA can you imagine how hard it was for me to keep quiet? Following that episode another guy walks in to find someone else in his bed, of course they began arguing and the final bitch out was “Brah is this my pen? Did you STEAL MY PEN! – nah nah brah I took nothing- GIVE ME MY PEN TAKE MY BED BUT YOU WILL GIVE ME MY PEN”. Welcome to hostel life ladies and gentlemen.


I’ve been spending lots of time at the beach, feeling the breeze, dipping in the water and most importantly watching the beautiful people (especially the Latinos playing volleyball eh eh?) I also made friends with the grocer and he gave me some suggestions so I explored Lincoln Dr. which is a suave outdoors mall with cafes along the strip, including couches, water misters and fans! I made some good friends the first night and hung out with a couple of them yesterday at the beach. One of them was actually extremely obnoxious – it brought me close to home thinking about the behavior of a few boys there. He decided to bring a megaphone to the beach (which at first was brilliant) to comment on passerby’s, eventually he got in trouble and was kicked off the beach. I claimed that I didn’t know him (the perks of traveling solo) I then went to this Cuban restaurant with another friend and ordered carne salteado (Pepper Steak) , they brought me something else - big surprise but I didn’t fight it because it was absolutely delicious, I also tried my friends sopa de pescado (fish soup)… AMAZING. We then explored the streets and I ran into store DASH – for all you Kardashian lovers! We also went to a museum which had a very unexpected concentration. When you think museum you think art, this was art, but…. The Miami museum of Erotic art hahaha, it was there I reestablished my levels of immaturity. I guess this is what happens when you wonder aimlessly and don’t read signs, now I know. Normally I would have left immediately, but I decided to have an open mind and see what the fuss was about. All in all it was an experience – I must say there were some tasteful art pieces as well as images I NEVER want to relive in my life. This is Miami for you!!! Everyone from the hostel went to fireworks last night which was really fun, then a few of us came across “Espanola Way” – which is a few blocks of Spanish cuisine and shops, easiest way to put it, it was the Latin American version of Little Italy or China Town.



Today is my last day and I fly off to Peru tomorrow, I’ll definitely see the beach one last time, and stroll Ocean Dr. I really loved Miami; it was the perfect place to begin this adventure. I was able to build up more independence and learn to go with the flow. The colors are vibrant and there is without a doubt a very modern art deco theme. Miami is literally South America’s backyard, so it helped to be surrounded by the language, I still have A LOT to learn and A LOT of catching up to do with my Spanish, but I know it takes a lot of patience, before I know it I’ll be jabbing away!!!




Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



6th July 2011

I love your stories
Hi honey I love how you tell your stories. I really love your photos! You are very good with your new camera!. Ah Miami what a great place your pictures make me want to go back soon. I think I have some of the same pics from our trip that you don't remember. You silly girl. I love you and miss you everyday. Kisses and hugs love mom

Tot: 0.17s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1256s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb