LIMA!!!


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima
July 17th 2011
Published: July 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well I already am breaking my own rules by failing to update every chance I get,. I was thrown into a lot of excitement and was on a constant go! I had a lot of anxiety flying from Miami to Lima, first off I took the airline AEROMEXICO, therefore everything was in spanish, which is good because it wasn´t such a shocker arriving in Lima. Apparently I´m mexican (I had this stereotype in Argentina too) and they tried moving me out of the immigration line during customs - that was interesting. I had a loooong layover in mexico city during the night and arrived to Lima at 6 in the morning. Going to customs the guy reviewing my documents was sure to work me up, as I am telling him how much time I need in Peru and my intentions, his reaction was ¨ayyyyiiiiyiii you REALLY need to be careful¨, he had serious doubts about my solo traveling, so of course I wanted to turn around and come right back home. At that point I splurged on a airport taxi and paid WAY too much, but it was worth it.

When I got to Lima I climbed into bed at the hostel and slept for awhile. When I woke up I met other room mates Theron, Julia and Anna (Julia and Anna are two Israeli girls whom I absolutely adore) . We went to a market and museum and then ate dinner. I tried pollo a las brasas.... SO delicious. I should note that peruvians seriously pride themselves on their food, which they should because it is out of this world! Later on I met with Ivan and Jen (they are good friends with a co worker of my moms) they showed me around Miraflores (which is where my hostel is located which is a very ritsy and safe neighborhood) and went to Larco Mar for drinks and food. Larco mar is basically a mall designed on the cliff overlooking the coast, truly beautiful and trendy. It was there I had my first taste of Anticucho - which is cow heart, I actually really liked it, the trick is to not think about what youre eating here or your in deep shit. I also tried a Pisco Sour, which is a typical Peruvian drink consisiting of egg white, cinnamon lemon, alchohol and a few more mysterious ingredients, its strong but tastey!

I then met up with Eymi (a friend Miss Jen made during her stay in Cusco) and Eymi´s cousin Gilmar. They took me to the neighborhood Barranco which is known for it´s bohemian attitude. Again more drinks were consumed! The next day Gilmar showed me around downtown. I was extremely surprised by the organization of the area, the buildings also have a large European influence (due to the Spanish invasion). In the main square there was a orchestra that we enjoyed for a while. They played typical Peruvian pieces infused with the Saxophone to give the music a different twist. I then went to Eymi´s house and met her family and friends. Her dad is a Major joker, during dinner he kept referring to the meat as Alàpaca (which is an animal similar to a llama) I didn´t want to be rude so I ate it anyway, only to find out he was messing with me the whole time! We went out that night to a club which was really fun. Im not a typical "clubber" in the states but theres just something different with the clubs in South America. I love the music, of course the Dj dishes out tracks from the U.S but Reggaeton is the main Genre played.

The next day I went with Eymi and her cousin to the Zoo, I have mixed feelings about zoo´s because on one hand they help endangered animals, but on the other animals don´t belong locked up for the entertainment of society. Regardless is was a beautiful zoo. Following we went to a water circuit park, which consists of many water fountains. We browsed and watched other brave ones play games in the water. The main attraction there is the light show. They have a light show executed from one fountain which was unbelievably cool. It was a combination of different music and designs along with the image of dancers in the center of the fountain. The dancers danced traditional folk dances, I think they were the best part but it looked like they were really there, but it was simply an image.

I really love Lima. Lima is booming economically and really working on the develop within many different avenues. I also felt safe there, of course my guard is always up, but I am able to focus on the experience without constant paranoia. Locals treat tourists very well, because the tourists are the main factor to their country flourishing. I have met amazing people and have learned a lot. My biggest fear was that I would be alone the whole time, however, I haven´t had one day alone, I actually have to create time to myself. To do this I ran on the coast of Lima everyday, the running path is combined with other runners and along with Police guarding the path, I have never felt safer in my life! I´ll be back to Lima a few more times in transit to other destinations.

Lastly I continuously surprise myself with how much my Spanish is developing on an everday basis. I am understanding a much wider set of vocabulary. I´ve also been thrown in situations were I seriously need to figure out how to communicate a concern or opinion in Spanish and can usually get it out somehow. I still need much more practice, and its with complete certainty that I will always being learning with a second language.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.025s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb