The Day Before


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Miami
December 5th 2007
Published: December 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today is Tuesday, Dec 5th, and it's freezing in the Midwest and Northeast. The holiday's are in full swing. Shoppers are herding through the malls and jousting for parking spaces. Christmas cards are being filled out, addresses being found, and packages are being shipped. Driveways are being shoveled, running noses are being sniffled, and diets are being slackened. It's a great time of year. The best. Even if you live in the northern latitudes, the weather goes with the season.

Of course, I live in Miami. As I write this it's 76 degrees and the sun couldn't be any brighter. The windows are all open and the breeze is lazily keeping me cool. If you've ever spent Christmas in the tropics, you know it's sort of an odd feeling, especially if you grew up in a place that has seasons, as I did. I never minded cold weather during the holidays. However I also remember how, every Jan 2nd, the holiday festivities would wind down and reality would set in. Five more months. Five more months.

So even though I probably have a lesser excuse to take off on a short trip to escape for a few days, I'm doing it anyway. This is what I'm doing: I'm taking time away from work tomorrow and Friday, and I'm heading to Key West. I'll stay until Saturday, unless I don't feel like coming back Saturday, in which case I'll stay until Sunday, and then I'll come back. Really.

I'd like to keep a photo journal along the trip. I'll be driving from Miami to Key West and will probably make a couple stops along the way. I've been to the keys several time so I know some of the best spots to see on the trip down US1.

This journal is dedicated to all those trapped in cold weather now and for the long winter. It's dedicated to the escapists, the beach lovers, the bikers, boaters, the parrotheads, and anyone else who has more than once had margaritas, mangos, or mariachis running through his or her head, even when that head is topped with a toque!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0497s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb