Baking Poolside


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Miami
March 1st 2007
Published: March 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

RTW 2007


coconuts! coconuts! coconuts!

Machete + Coconut tree + Uncle Hugh =
Well as you can guess, I have been baking by the pool while staying at my godparents house here in Miami, Florida, the first stop on my trip where my plan to get some sun, eat some gooood food and relax has been quite successful. I have also had the chance to let my mind catch up with the fact that when my body boarded the plane Tuesday morning, deprived of sleep and inadvertent to the fact that I had no idea what ended up in my pack, I was not just leaving for a small vacation or routine visit to England or Jamaica soon to return, but rather that I wouldn't be seeing San Francisco or a bed that I can call my own for quite some time. Squashing my face against the window trying to prolong my last long look at San Francisco as it smiled a lazy good morning to me I wondered who I would be when I return next year. We both yawned together, the city as it waved goodbye and carried on as usual taking my parents and life as I know it with it, and me as I curled up on the seat to
Coconut juicyCoconut juicyCoconut juicy

= yummy yummy refreshment!
sleep my way through the journey away.
So maybe I haven't actually realized what a year long trip including both africa and india involves quite yet. Instead I have been consumed with the longing to throw away my plans, and consequently a lot of money from my very expensive plane ticket down the drain, to move in with my Unlce Hugh and Aunty Rosemary, live in my cousins spacious room (and extremely comfortable bed,) and gorge myself on freshly picked coconuts, jerk, curry chicken and scotch bonnet pepper, oh and of course to pop down to Jamaica, now so much closer than before, every other week as I choose. Not a bad plan I must say!
But alas, the fabulous ever-flowing food and sun will end tomorrow as I head up to New York, which is thankfuly not as cold as it was a couple weeks ago with that arctic front that took me as unprepared as a toad without a tongue on my trip to Ohio that nearly ended in my being frozen on the street like a bloody deer in headlights about to get bowled over by a truck of ice... (ok, enough with the silly similies). At
sopihesopihesopihe

what a tigress!
any rate, I am keeping this blog for my own amusement, and yours if you so choose, and so that my parents know that I am still alive, and because maybe I can be more consistent than with my emails and well honestly so that I can put of loads of photos and make you all really really jealous! So put up with my damn spelling errors and keep in touch!




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Relax ...Relax ...
Relax ...

where I spent my days relaxing in Miami, getting spoiled!
Jamaica gardenJamaica garden
Jamaica garden

A visual taste of jamaica ... i was so close!
tropical Retreattropical Retreat
tropical Retreat

Am I really leaving all this behind for chilly NYC ... oh dear, what am I thinking??


Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0642s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb